Pan Seared Salmon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I live in Alaska, so my husband just brought some King Salmon home from fishing and I made this. Sooo tasty, delicious, yummy. I didn't have capers on hand, so I put a little garlic olive oil in towards the end of cooking. I used my Grandma's cast iron skillet and it was perfect. Thanks for sharing this recipe, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
A little too crusty on the outside for me, and I did feel that it was a bit better with some extra seasoning (rosemary and garlic - nearly burned the garlic), but it was a great starting recipe. I kept the heat on medium high, and removed the thinner portion at the recommended time. I then covered the thicker piece and cooked an extra minute. Delicious - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shawnchittle
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I live in Manhattan and I don't normally cook. I bought all new cookware and headed to this site to try my frist recipe. Uh, what? I followed these instructions to the letter. What kind of stoves are they using? Portable camping ones? I have a normal apartment gas stove. OK 3 minutes on medium heat. Into the pan goes the the salmon with the olive oil. WHOOSH! it sent huge plumes of smoke all throughout the apartment. It looked like the place was on fire. I almost called the whole thing off, but kept going. And after just 2 minutes on so-called "high-heat" the so-called "stainless stell" pan (brand new) was ruined. It's been several hours and smoke still hasn't subsided. Don't use medium or high heat with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Perfect! Didn't need the full 5 minutes on the second side depending on the thickness of my filet. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
No lemons, but still good! I added garlic powder also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Quick, easy, tasty... I sprinkled salt, peper and Cayenne peper before oil. Used regular skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
A basic, simple way of preparing salmon that's fool-proof. Omitting the capers doesn't hurt at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Used fresh garlic instead of capers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I just finished this dish 10 minutes ago served with the roasted brussel(s) sprouts recipe from this site and a salad of lettuce/walnuts/apples/blueberries with a balsamic vinaigrette. I followed the directions almost precisely. Based on other reviewer recommendations, I sprinkled the fillets with dill, garlic, and lemon juice before I coated the fish in olive oil. I also added the capers last. One of the best meals I have had ever. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States