Pan-Seared Duck Breast with Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I loved this dish, with a few modifications. I made it for two, but still had a lot of the sauce left over, so I would half that part, (except for the Jalapeño...needed more)I used bacon instead of pancetta. Added a little smokiness and the fat needed to cook the shallots and mushrooms. Also so oil or butter in the pan for the duck. The duck fat is plenty! I used my cast iron skillet for a nice crust, and reduced the cooking time for the duck to be med-rare. (140-45 degrees).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Very good recipe. We all loved the blueberry sauce. Seemed weird while I was making it, but got rave reviews from the fam. I have made the sauce a few other times by itself to put over other meat. I am not a big fan of bok choy so I used spinach instead. I also didn't cook as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennHoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
THIS WAS AMAZING! My husband said it was the best meal he ever had. I agree with the top review. If you make it for two, halve the blueberry dressing, use bacon, and don't cook the duck too long! Well worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I used maple syrup instead of sugar, prepared the sauce well in advance and then marinated the duck breasts in the sauce for 30 minutes before cooking (I made a couple deep slices in each breast to help the sauce penetrate the meat). I served the duck simply with steamed fingerling potatoes - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
good all around idea, i added cream then butter at the end to turn it into a bluberry cream sauce, also the breasts are way over done at that temperature you want them to be more a med-rare to medium its game not poultry so there is no risk of salmonella
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Oh wow!! I was a little skeptical about the combination of duck/blueberries/bokchoy but it was SOOOO tasty!! I was cooking for 2 and cut everything in half but used a whole jalapeno and about half of the sugar in the sauce. Also had to do without pancetta as the piece I had in the fridge was bad and I was out of bacon...but oh MY this was one tasty meal! My only "issue" is that the potatoes, while tasty, were not quite right with the rest of the meal... maybe a nice rice pilaf or a salad....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Yummy recipe the blueberry sauce was good but took a long time to have the consistency I wanted >1 hour. I had no drippings from the pancetta so used so, but the mushrooms made some liquid as they cooked. Cooked the duck 10 minutes each side. My husband loved it for his birthday dinner, said it was the best duck ever. I also used 1 lb of white mushrooms as we do not like shitakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Fantastic dish. Served on top of mashed potatoes. Great presentation but a little dark in colour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Amazing! I despise bok choy, but got some in our CSA box. The bok choy/veggies came out phenomenal, so good I'd eat it plain. Everything else was awesome, and the different foods all tasted so good together. I cannot wait to make this again. Oh, a couple FYI's: used bacon, which I think was the secret to the yummy veggies, and I have a ton of blueberry sauce left over. Wish I'd halved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This was really spectacular! We had to change some ingredients to what was available but it was still amazing! DH said it's one of the best meals I've ever cooked! We halved the sauce and still had enough for 4 more servings. This was so great, we can't wait to invite people over just so we can make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States