Pan-Seared Duck Breast with Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This was really spectacular! We had to change some ingredients to what was available but it was still amazing! DH said it's one of the best meals I've ever cooked! We halved the sauce and still had enough for 4 more servings. This was so great, we can't wait to invite people over just so we can make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Amazing! I despise bok choy, but got some in our CSA box. The bok choy/veggies came out phenomenal, so good I'd eat it plain. Everything else was awesome, and the different foods all tasted so good together. I cannot wait to make this again. Oh, a couple FYI's: used bacon, which I think was the secret to the yummy veggies, and I have a ton of blueberry sauce left over. Wish I'd halved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
THIS WAS AMAZING! My husband said it was the best meal he ever had. I agree with the top review. If you make it for two, halve the blueberry dressing, use bacon, and don't cook the duck too long! Well worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I used maple syrup instead of sugar, prepared the sauce well in advance and then marinated the duck breasts in the sauce for 30 minutes before cooking (I made a couple deep slices in each breast to help the sauce penetrate the meat). I served the duck simply with steamed fingerling potatoes - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Very good recipe. We all loved the blueberry sauce. Seemed weird while I was making it, but got rave reviews from the fam. I have made the sauce a few other times by itself to put over other meat. I am not a big fan of bok choy so I used spinach instead. I also didn't cook as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennHoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Probably one of the best recipes I've ever made! A bit of a pain in terms of prep and dishes used to cook, but well worth it. I substituted oyster mushrooms for shittake, as our market was out of the latter. The sauce was a leap of faith (jalapeno and blueberry), but it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Oh wow!! I was a little skeptical about the combination of duck/blueberries/bokchoy but it was SOOOO tasty!! I was cooking for 2 and cut everything in half but used a whole jalapeno and about half of the sugar in the sauce. Also had to do without pancetta as the piece I had in the fridge was bad and I was out of bacon...but oh MY this was one tasty meal! My only "issue" is that the potatoes, while tasty, were not quite right with the rest of the meal... maybe a nice rice pilaf or a salad....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dave Lilly
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Seriously delicious! I had a similar dish at a local gem of a restaurant and later found this on here. I must say this sauce was even better than the expensive (but worth it) restaurant! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
this was great!!the blueberrys and tyme blend with the duck!ymm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mr.fix

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Made it exactly for Christmas dinner and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Davidsonville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

Pastrami-Spiced Duck Breast Reuben

Duck breasts get the pastrami-spice treatment in this main-dish "reuben."

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States