Pan-Seared Duck Breast with Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
My husband harvested the ducks and we used this recipe. It turned out amazing! A new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
you just can't go wrong with this recipe... thanks so much for sharing it we use it often and will continue..... awesome flavor and excellent show off of a dish.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Made this for our company tonight. It was a hit. My wife was skeptical on the blueberry sauce but loved it. It all went so well with each other. Blueberry sauce didn't thicken like others had said. So I added some flour+water to thicken it up. Would try this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
The rich and varied ingredient list made me think that this would be the perfect dish for some wild duck breasts that a friend gave us. Unfortunately, it just wasn't enough to take the gamey-ness out of the meat and the overall sentiment of our family was that the flavors were just too overpowering - too many different tastes that didn't seem to mesh well. I don't know if it would be different with store-bought duck, but I probably won't be giving this a second try:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSBEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tahoe City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Turned out great! I used huckleberries instead of blueberries and it added a really nice tang to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Great recipe. Made a few modifications, which I think made for a healthier dinner 1/2 Sweet Potatoes, half regular Cured, as in uncooked, candian bacon instead of panchetta. Seared in olive oil very thin slices, 10 seconds a side and put on a plate to be used later. Less fat but all the smokey flavor. Added more olive oil to make up for the lack of drippings. Cooked the duck breasts as called for, 5 minutes on skin side, 2 minutes on other side. Then, removed and discarded the skin and seared the now exposed side until medium rare (our preference) With the bacon, rolled small pieces of the duck with cornichons, held together with a tookpick. Kids loved it. Blueberry sauce, substituted a very ripe mango, sliced thin for the called for 1/4 cup of sugar. Perhaps not as sweet but all the blueberry flavor and good enough to put on your pancakes the next morning. We didn't do the jalapeno so not sure how that would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Made it tonight and it was very good. The Sauce did not thicken even though I kept it on low for 45 minutes. Still good though. Looking for suggestion on how to get that syrup consistency. The pancetta I had did not produce much fat/oil so I sliced off some of the fat from the duck breast. I used the Hudson valley Foie Gras duck breasts and made a crisscross pattern in them to help render more of the fat. I use a cast iron skillet as well and put it on the grill to keep the mess as a minimum. No butter or oil in the skillet as the duck breast renders about 2/3 cup of oil. Can you say French fries! The potatoes were good, but I think some fingerlings would be more elegant. 08 A to Z Pinot linked up very well. I also used 1/3 cup of chicken stock when I put the Baby Bok choy in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Only used the the parts for the duck seasoning and the sauce. In the sauce I used strawberry wine instead of apple juice. This was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Fantastic dish. Served on top of mashed potatoes. Great presentation but a little dark in colour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Great tasting dish since duck usually gets a bad rap. I will make it again and again. The only problem I had was that the blueberry sauce did not thicken up even when I tried thickener...but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States