Pan-Seared Ahi Tuna with Blood Orange Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Aja
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
The ahi tuna and blood orange was an interesting combination. I kept going back and forth between tasting the sauce and wondering if I actually liked or not. Separately, the sauce tasted too sweet, but paired with the tuna it became a nice balance and it grew on me! I really enjoyed the shallots that simmered in the sauce. I strained the sauce for presentation purposes and served the shallots underneath the tuna- cause they were just too good to not add. I do agree with some of the reviews that the cooking time was a little long for folks that like a more rare center, so I did cut it down to 1-1/2 mins per large side and 30 secs on the small sides in a pretty hot pan. I crusted it with a little bit of black sesame seed for a little more texture. This was a fun dish to play with various presentations (the tuna sliced and fanned out looked great too) and very colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
3 minutes on each side is about right -depends on your preferences, I like my tuna fairly rare. Great sauce, wonderful flavor, easy to make. The tuna DOES get cold while the sauce is prepared, but the sauce warms it back up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZSRT8
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
love this- made it with blood red oranges and served with broccoli and sweet peas from the wok with garlic and ginger. Great recipe thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sar19

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
My ahi tuna steaks were almost an inch thick and I seared them about 4 minutes per side and they were cooked just right. I started the sauce in a separate pan, using a cup of fresh juice from Cuties mandarins - then added the mixture to the fish saucepan when the steaks were done - to save time. The sauce was excellent and I'd use it again on cod or halibut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Agreed with other reviewers- a quick sear in a hot cast iron pan should be no longer than a minute or so per side for the fish. I subbed in mirin for the white wine and regular fresh squeezed orange for the blood orange juice. Layered sliced tuna over a green salad, with crumbled blue cheese and edamame and drizzled the sauce on top- worked out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meekowt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This was wonderful! Our family had never tried Ahi Tuna, so this was a great 1st taste. I didn't have a blood orange so I used mango puree...tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgrrl476

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Winnemucca, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
My boyfriend and I were looking for some good fish recipes and stumbled on to this one. IT WAS FANTASTIC!! The sauce was absalutely delicious! My boyfriend loved the tuna seared for the time called for. I on the other hand did 3 on one side and 2 on the other. Came out great! We definately will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Pretty good! Simple. A few comments: seared for 1.5 min first side, 1 min second side, and it was almost too much. 1 tbsp of butter in the ingredients is not used in the directions. Needed a little salt, but that's personal. Used a little regular orange juice instead of 2 cups blood orange juice, touch of sweetness was great. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Delicious! And smelled so good while making it. I agree with all the other comments that 5 minutes is way too long for searing the tuna. 1-2 minutes per side is more like it. The tuna got cold while making the sauce, unfortunately, but a quick trip to the microwave before pouring the sauce on fixed that. Squeezed a couple of blood oranges but not enough for 2 cups so I mixed it with regular orange juice. Again, turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I served this dish for Valentine's day dinner. Searing time for each side was up to 2 minutes for a delicious rare center. However, the blood orange sauce was too tart for our taste and didn't seem to complement rare ahi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ammelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States