Pan Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
This is my recipe, they changed it a little when they published it, I generally make a roux with the flour and oil in the pan, and a little broth if necessary (it eliminates clumpy flour). As far as seasoning, I change out the season salt for garlic or onion powder, etc. based on the family's mood. I also frequently add mushrooms or onions; I have served it over rice, pasta, egg noodles, potatoes; I adjust the liquid (wine/water/broth) depending on who's eating. I think it's a good base to a quick easy meal you can adapt to you family's moods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
Not bad- but the flavor got old pretty fast. Adding the flour mixture caused lot of clumps which I had to strain out. I put it over bow ties which was a good way to mop up the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
This was pretty tasty. I did the chicken up my style (pounded thin) seasoned lightly with pepper and salt, quickly cooked it in a little olive oil and minced garlic. Pounded thin, it cooked in about 6 minutes. I removed the chicken and followed as recipe indicated. Then added the chicken back as recipe indicated, but only simmered for just a few minutes. I cut my cooking time in half by pounding the breads to about 1/2 inch thickness and we found it quite tasty. Nice sauce, easy to make and ingredients are always handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyBeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
It's true, this is a great starter recipe which is why it deserves full marks. After I initially cooked the chicken, I pulled them off and then put 3 T flour and 3 T butter in the pan. After that was slightly browned and bubbly I whisked in the wine and water. It wasn't clumpy at all. In went a bunch of fresh rosemary, thyme and oregano, then the chicken. Make sure you check your chicken! That's why the recipe says "or until chicken is cooked through". If it was overcooked, that's not the recipe's fault. :) 15 more minutes is what it took for mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
I liked this recipe a lot. I took some advice from previous comments and decided to season the chicken really well. I seasoned it before I fried it and than after. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
It was good, but perhaps needed something more. I'll make it again and experiment. To solve the problem of the clumping flour, I added 1/3 of a cup of the hot broth to the flour mixture before adding it to the rest of the broth. Worked wonders - I had no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
Lara, my family is in your debt! We thought this was AWESOME! I made it exactly as the recipe calls for; it has a wonderful delicate flavor and is VERY EASY to prepare. This is DEFINATELy in our regular rotation! A green salad, maybe a loaf of bread and you're ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
I was going to make Angel Chicken from this website while visiting my Mom. Then I discovered that she had no onion & Chive cream cheese, a key ingredient for that yummy recipe. So, I hopped onto Allrecipes.com to find a recipe she had all of the ingredients for and up came Pan Sauce Chicken. This was very good and pretty easy to make. I will definately be making it again. I will probably add some fresh garlic & mushrooms. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
This was very good! I omitted the 1/2 tsp salt and just used the 1/2 tsp seasoning salt, which was plenty. I also added sliced mushrooms along with the chicken, removed them to make the sauce, then returned the chicken and mushrooms back into the pan. We'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
We really enjoyed this (Husbot insisted that I write a review), and we already had all the ingredients on hand. It was quick and easy. I followed the recipe almost exactly - I didn't have any seasoned salt so I used some salt-free poultry seasoning and added a little more salt. I served this atop some tomato basil fettucine but I think it would go better with egg noodles. I am not sure about kid friendliness, I don't think our seven year old would have liked it but she wasn't here for dinner so five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States