Pan-Roasted Halibut with Clamshell Mushrooms and Lemon Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Outstanding. I doubled sauce, used white wine instead of water. Served it over rice. Lightly coat fish with flour before frying to give it a little more crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
"ALWAYS READ THE RECIPE IN FULL BEFORE YOU START and WITH THE REVIEWS by other". NOW taken all the suggestions from other's and put them together to make an excellent meal. It's a matter of what your taste is. YES ! I all-way like to made the recipe once as written, the way the chef did it. Yes I made a few alterations, I can't leave anything alone! I have to play with my food. It's a matter of what your taste is....I now have two more or is it three ways to this. I made this and it came out much better for me. What I like is the idea what other reviewer did, You can get very good tip's as will as hint's, I do add this to my notes, to do. You got me thinking on this, I like it. Thank you and to the other reviewer who suggested what to do, I love it wend someone do the recipe with alterations, and it was a hit with everyone! I had several requests for the recipe. I Will definitely make this again for sure! Thank You!! P.S...Will tweak it till I come up with something I really like. Did I get you Inspired to play with your food that what I love about cooking have fun I would love to hear any improvements and/or variations you make to this simple recipe. "I like to think that I'am an explorer of food." Enjoy! Y'all Have A GOOD Cooking Week and Happy Cooking to y'all!....As well !!.....Grpa NOW I can do my happy food dance Now! 5 Stars; no; It's over the top, Like 8-10 to me is more like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grpa
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
You can't go wrong with any recipe from Chef John. Recipe turned out great. My plate looked like restaurant quality (a fine one at that) and the taste was great and it was so simple to create! Will def use again maybe going with another reviewer's tip and using wine instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Magdaleno

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Made this last night for my family. Ingredients pretty easy to find although clamshell mushrooms very expensive, i used chanterelles and oyster varieties for 1/3 the price. recipe very easy to follow. everybody loved it! the sauce was excellent and very light. added this to my recipe box for sure. served with some simple sauteed snap peas and some fresh boule bread. this was an easy winner. would be a great idea for a special family dinner when prep time is an issue. thanks for the very nice recipe chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devin K Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prosper, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This was fantastic. I did not use the cayenne (family members are not fans of hot/spicy) and I used white wine instead of the suggested water to deglaze the pan for the sauce. I will definitely make it again! The reviewer who mentioned having everything prepared before beginning was spot on. Made the process so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Tasty. We used white wine instead water and subbed cremini mushrooms. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I have always loved fish but this recipe put it over the top!! I am always up to trying Chef John's recipes as they usually don't call for too many ingredients & are easy to follow. Made this with white mushrooms as that is what I had on hand and served it with Brocollini & tri-color couscous what a great meal. I'm ready to eat halibut everyday!! Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
used oyster+ white mushrooms, tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
My first try of a Chef John recipe. Very easy to follow. Helps to have everything ready before starting. Goes fast. Tasted great, will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This is my first Chef John recipe that I was able to follow as it was really simple. I made it with a slight variation - did not have cayenne pepper and used paprika and did not have parsley so left it out but it was all good at the end and very surprised with the taste it gave. Only warning is that the mushroom while sautéing may release heaps and heaps of water and would affect cooking the fish - may need to consider sautéing the mushrooms until all the liquids have evaporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States