Pan-Roasted Halibut with Clamshell Mushrooms and Lemon Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I used Chilean sea bass for this and it was outstanding. I also used white wine to deglaze the pan as other reviewers had suggested. Used cremini mushrooms instead of clamshell. I think next time I will use more mushrooms, add some shallots and garlic. I would recommend using less lemon juice if you use the wine, as both are acidic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Delicious, fast and easy. Used white wine instead of water and added fresh minced garlic to the mushroom mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Fabulous! I used a cup of coarsely chopped portebello mushroom (approx. 1 whole) because no one seemed to know what a clamshell mushroom was. Since I already had an open bottle of white wine, I used that instead of the water. Otherwise, followed the recipe. This will be my new go-to halibut recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
The best halibut recipie we have ever had! Did use wine instead of water like a reviewer. Seriously, totally awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
You are awesome, Chef John! This recipe is fantastic: I would have given it six stars if I could have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gail giddings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This is a fabulously easy and delicious recipe. No leftovers, sorry to say! Thanks,Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Delicious, fast, and very aesthetically pleasing when served! I was forced to make a substitution based on the availability of fresh fish at my grocery store - I used cod. I also couldn't resist using the entire package of clamshell mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Used cod tenderloins and a Sauvignon blanc instead of halibut and water. Served on a bed of spinach with peeled potatoes and whole buttered carrots. Very nice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Loved this recipe! You could also substitute dry white wine for lemon. Using left over chicken broth instead of 1/4 cup water would also be great. I made it according to recipe and it was well worth the cost of the Halibut Steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Outstanding. I doubled sauce, used white wine instead of water. Served it over rice. Lightly coat fish with flour before frying to give it a little more crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States