Pan Roasted Beef Tenderloin with Ginger-Shiitake Brown Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Excellent flavor! I had to modify the cooking times because the meat/temp I had did not need 3 minutes per side to sear and took longer in the oven. Everything else worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This has a really nice flavor. You can taste the ginger without it overpowering. My husband loved it. It made a great taste change for the steaks. Would probably work just as well with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Arkell Terlouw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
By far the best recipe I've ever made!!!! Sooooo good! The only thing I did though was cut in half the amount of butter. It was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I scaled this down to 2 servings and follwed the directions except for the garlic chives. I haven't seen them on the Japanese market so I just finely chopped onion to let it dissapear into the sauce with the added flavor. My husband and I loved the flavor of our angus tenderloin, melt in your mouth good. However, it is extremely rich (must be all that butter soaked into the mushrooms!). Next time I make this (and I will) I'm going to try half the butter half beef stock. Hopefully it will still be rich in flavor without all the extra calories and fat. Otherwise, I'll keep the recipe as is. A very gourmet meal for a special occasion without a lot of fuss. Make sure you know how much each steak weighs, mine was only 3.3 oz while my husband's was 8oz, so I had to brown it for less time and took it out of the oven much sooner and was medium. My husband's was also medium to medium well with the listed cooking times. Oh yeah, my two year old devoured the mushrooms so I'll make more next time just for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Mmmmmm! Timing was just right for a lovely med-rare cut of tenderloin. I will be definitely making this again. The Asian flavors were fantastic. For a different flavor, I think I'll try sweet marsala with wild mushrooms and thyme next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is obviously a huge deviation from the original recipe but I used shrimp instead of beef and it was quite good! The one drawback for me (and it could be due to the different meats used) was the overabundance of butter. I would definitely make it again though. MMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was a great and easy option for a dinner party. I LOVE ginger, so I enjoyed the sauce very much! This wasn't a recipe that I was overwhelmed by, but it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Way too much butter, but still a tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phoenixlee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Good roast with an Asian twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
butter reduction is superior
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States