Pan Fried Whole Trout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Because other reviewers commented about the trout burning and the oil smoking, I fried the trout at a medium/low heat with olive oil and it took about 15-20 minutes. The fish did not burn at all nor did it smoke up the house. The recipe itself was good. I'd make again if my husband asked for it but I'd like a bit more flavor. Maybe garlic or something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I marinated the trout overnight in sesame,oil, soy sauce, worcestershire sauce. I sliced some red bell peppers and Vidalia onion, fried in butter,put the trout on top and added fresh dill, salt and pepper. Pan fried 6 minutes and flipped the trout, then 5 minutes on the second side. Excellent recipe and takes a little fore planning, but only a few minutes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Tebaldi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This is the coating we always use when frying fish (mainly brim.) My mom and husband's dad both used this when we were growing up so its a must in our household when we do fish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Excellent simple dish! Halved recipe and made 2 fish. Left out cayenne pepper but seasoned inside with salt and pepper as well before dredging. Started pan very hot then turned to medium as others suggested. Still smoked a little but opened window, turned on fan and lit a scented candle! Beautiful golden brown skin. Next time will use 1/2 oil and 1/2 butter to lower pan temperature. That might help the smoking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Really good recipe, and so easy! Tip: Eat right after you cook it , don't cook for later because the flavour is still good but is not crunchy any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This fish took 10 minutes, 8 of which was cooking time, and it was absolutely delicious! I used a cast iron pan with coconut oil on low/med heat which makes frying easy. This will be a regular recipe around here, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Everything a recipe should be: simple, fresh, easily available ingredients, and delicious! As other reviewers noted, the high temperature may be a problem. I turned mine down to medium and cooked a bit longer; it was lovely and moist inside and beautifully browned on the outside. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHHOPPE
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Fish is my kryptonite. And whole fish is my RED kryptonite! I mean, I can't tell you how many whole trout I've practically molested while attempting to cook them and then just ended up throwing them in the garbage...until I found this recipe. So I am eternally grateful for that. The only thing I would add, is a) that the smoke production is truly incredible; and b) the you should cut off all the fins, especially if you eat the skin, as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
all I can say about this recipe is yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This was good and a nice quick/easy recipe. I bought whole wild caught rainbow trout from the store, it was all cleaned and basically butterflied, so cooking time took about 3 minutes on each side. The head and tail ended up falling off. I ended up eating pretty much all of the fish except for the fins, the skin coated with the cornmeal mixture was very yummy. I also added some onion powder to it, I think some old bay seasoning added also would have been good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Trout

See the best, most delicious, and simplest way to cook trout.

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States