Pan Fried Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Fantastic! I had no problem figuring out this recipe, so easy and it came out delicious! I'd never tried Swiss Chard before but my other gardening friends all grew it so I thought I'd give it a shot. Only difference was I used minced fresh garlic instead of paste. In a recipe, unless otherwise stated, an ingredient is typically raw, like the bacon for instance. Covering the dish for 4 minutes is important because this lets the juices from the leaves steam themselves, producing a tender-crisp texture that is just delicious! It did not say to remove the bacon or drain the grease like one reviewer did, the grease is part of the sauteing fat so I left it in and followed the instructions as written, and with that there was plenty of liquid to cook in. One bunch was perfect, and from what I've seen a bunch is typically 8 to 12 leaves... just right for a family of 3 or 4. The recipe was perfectly clear to me, and the whole family loved it! It earns its 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Greenfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden, Missouri, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I made this tonight using vegetarian "fakin bacon" and it was a hit! I also used olive oil instead of butter, and chopped garlic instead of paste. Great way to get the family to eat their greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I made this without the bacon and added chopped red onion to it. It was delicious! This was my first time trying chard and it was delicious with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Propp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Delicious! I did use the stems though. I cut them into small pieces and threw them in for a a few minutes before i added the leaves. I want to try this again but to make it a tad healthier i am planning on substituting turkey bacon. I used a "bunch" of swiss chard from the store but i wish i would have used two! I found that one bunch was too small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Gasser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is a great, simple recipe. I used fresh garlic I diced and tweaked the amounts of things a little, but it had great flavor and was easy to pull together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was very good. And the family enjoyed it. I did slice up most of the stems and threw them in before wilting the greens. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was very good, but I changed it a little. I don't throw out the stalks, I like the crunch, so I chop them up and cook them for a couple of minutes first, then put in the greens. I also added just a dash of red pepper flakes. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Smithley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was a great way to use the swiss chard from my garden. I added canned beans to extend it, because the swiss chard shrinks alot after it cooks. My kids liked it, and so I think it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Easy! Yummy! Quick! I will try this with other greens that I make (kale, collards, beets).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Mmmm, so good! But healthy? Maybe a wash, if the chard outweighs the bacon fat and butter. I think I will try this without the bacon or maybe draining most of the bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States