Pan Fried Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This is a great recipe. I also added 1/4 sliced onion and 1/4 tsp. sweet paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessicahoney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Love this one and I make frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was very tasty. I made it just as recipe was written and it was very good - will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Pretty good, but you REALLY should remove the bacon before adding the chard if you want the bacon to stay crispy. Leaving it in causes it to steam and become almost soggy. It wasn't bad, I would just have preferred it to stay crispy! Next time, I'll remove the bacon and most of the bacon grease before sauteing the garlic in the butter and add the bacon back after the chard is wilted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Although I really liked this recipe, I downgraded it on the merit of nutrition alone. I can't imagine why you would want to add two tablespoons of butter to the already greasy bacon drippings. I sauteed the bacon in a non-stick pan and drained some of the bacon fat off then continued with the recipe. That cuts the calories at least by a third if not by half and is still very good. My hubby loved this recipe and it is a definite keeper. I think adding balsamic vinegar rather than lemon juice would also be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Bromley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yerington, Nevada, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Everything tastes better with bacon. Didn't add the butter (the bacon made enough fat) or the lemon juice. Probably added more than 1/2 tsp of garlic as we love it as much as bacon. Gave the pan a swig of balsamic vinegar at the end. Great way to cook chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Although the stems of the chard can be tough, I choose to cut them from the leaves, slice them and simmer in a bit of water to soften them. Especially if using rainbow chard they not only add nutrients and texture but are visually appealing. Two slices of apple wood smoked nitrate free bacon and 1 Tablespoon of butter worked perfectly with my bunch of chard. The splash of lemon brightened all the flavors quite beautifully. This is an excellent recipe that I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Thought this was good. Swiss chard is my dad's favorite vegetable, so it's always fun to explore options for preparing it. I don't think "The Hubbs" would list ANY vegetable as a favorite, and even he seemed to enjoy this one. Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Very good! I didn't have fresh lemon juice so I left it out. I also chopped the stems and a small onion and sauteed with the chopped bacon before adding in the leaves. Finely chopped a garlic clove instead of making garlic paste, and added it to the pan after adding the butter. This was very good and we will be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This didn't turn out so well for me. I might have over cooked. It had a bitter taste so I added a little brown sugar which took the edge off of the bitterness. I might try again. Or I might leave out the lemon juice next time or replace with some vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySacTown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States