Pan-Fried Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
this would be good as broiler roasted with olive oil. seasoning salt roll the vegetable's in olive oil. about 1 tbsp just to coat the squash lightly (should look shiny preheat oven at 400 put squash in a non stick cake or pie tin. pu tin oven let roast 4 to 6 min stir let cook another 4 to 6 min should have some brown roasting color when you pull out of oven sprinkel with lemon juice fresh or bottled and some seasoning salt johnies is a good one. and serve I do most fresh garden vegetables this way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Not bad, but not great (but I'm not a huge fan of balsamic vinegar unless it's in salad dressing). If I make it again I'll probably cook on higher heat; I though the veggies were too soggy but I liked the crispy texture of the browned parts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I give this a 3 because of the balsamic vinegar. i prefer to pan fry in butter with salt and pepper right before flipping. real simple recipe and everyone i know loves the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Pretty good. I used nowhere near the amount of balsamic vinegar--it would've been drowning in it, and I sliced instead of dicing the squash. No other reason that I prefer how it looks sliced. I also tossed in some already steamed green beans to the dish for a little varity. Even though I used very little balsamic, bf was a bit turned off by the vinegar, so a nice recipe to try but apparently not one to try again at our house. He's picky about vinegar though, and that is not the recipe's fault. I liked it well enough. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
When I made this I really cut back on the balsamic vinegar. I added about 1/2 of a tablespoon and the taste was pretty good. I added another 1/2 of a tablespoon and the recipe went to yuck. Then I tried to add more salt and grated parmesan cheese to salvage it and to me it came out with a strange taste. It tasted like I put mayonnaise on it. I don't like mayonnaise so this didn't work for me at all, even after the revisions. I was thinking that if you used a very sweet, desert style balsamic it would work, but not with your regular primarily sour balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Too much vinegar-- I agree... Next time, I will add vinegar to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Loved the simplicity of this recipe but made a few changes for kicks. Stick with the butter in the recipe and add a couple teaspoons of sugar to the squash while its frying - this will help it caramelize and brown. When it's done, mix in about 1-2T of goat cheese and 2T parmesan. Cheese makes everything better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
A recipe in AARP magazine called for julienning zukes and yellow squash. Didn't know how to julienne, so watched a demo on youtube. I was dismayed to find out I was supposed to throw away the parts of the squash that I squared off, so I saved them and found this *wonderful* and simple recipe to use them in! I used olive oil instead of butter, added two cloves of garlic (I love garlic and it's so *good* for you), and a bit of shallot. Yummy! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This recipe was disappointing. I added one clove of garlic but kept the rest of the recipe the same. I used a quality Balsamic but the veggies were swimming in the vinegar. I transferred the veggies out of the pool of vinegar but the flavor was still overpowering. I will not be making this again with the Balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAXBASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
The balsamic vinegar just didn’t work with these vegetables, it smelled and tasted weird. I tried adding some parmesan cheese but it didn’t help. I won’t be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States