Pan-Fried Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Oh my goodness, I loved this recipe. It is so easy and tastes so good. I don't think that I would have thought to pair squash and zucchini with balsamic. But they go so well together. I used EVOO instead of butter and I added a clove of chopped garlic. I have made this two times in two days and I will definitely make it over and over! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I was the only one in my family that liked this. I would of given it a 4 but my husband and kids took one bite and wouldn't eat any more so I'm only giving it a 3. I followed the recipe exactly but it sure seemed like there was too much vinegar. I'd recommend using 1 T. and then adding more if you feel it's needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Loved the simplicity of this recipe but made a few changes for kicks. Stick with the butter in the recipe and add a couple teaspoons of sugar to the squash while its frying - this will help it caramelize and brown. When it's done, mix in about 1-2T of goat cheese and 2T parmesan. Cheese makes everything better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
My husband is not much of a vegetable eater, and Squash is on his no list. What I did was chopped up two carrots ,let them cook in the butter until they were almost soft. Then added the squash along with two small chopped up leeks that were ;eft from another recipe. And followed the rest of the recipe. He loved it. Thank you for this recipe. I'm going to make this again especially when my daught and her family come to dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flanders, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was delicious! I am from the south, and of course have never had fried squash like this. We cover it in salt and either flour or cornmeal or even both and fry the devil out of it. This was so good, that my brother who hasn't took a bite of squash in 23 years ate it and he loved it. Has asked for it several times. Thank you so much for helping me find a way to get my handicapped and very sick brother to eat his squash.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This recipe was disappointing. I added one clove of garlic but kept the rest of the recipe the same. I used a quality Balsamic but the veggies were swimming in the vinegar. I transferred the veggies out of the pool of vinegar but the flavor was still overpowering. I will not be making this again with the Balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAXBASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
This recipe is amazing! Summer squash that actually tastes delicious! And so simple, too. You could also try mixing the browned squash cubes with cooked green peas, corn, or diced carrots. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
When I made this I really cut back on the balsamic vinegar. I added about 1/2 of a tablespoon and the taste was pretty good. I added another 1/2 of a tablespoon and the recipe went to yuck. Then I tried to add more salt and grated parmesan cheese to salvage it and to me it came out with a strange taste. It tasted like I put mayonnaise on it. I don't like mayonnaise so this didn't work for me at all, even after the revisions. I was thinking that if you used a very sweet, desert style balsamic it would work, but not with your regular primarily sour balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
A recipe in AARP magazine called for julienning zukes and yellow squash. Didn't know how to julienne, so watched a demo on youtube. I was dismayed to find out I was supposed to throw away the parts of the squash that I squared off, so I saved them and found this *wonderful* and simple recipe to use them in! I used olive oil instead of butter, added two cloves of garlic (I love garlic and it's so *good* for you), and a bit of shallot. Yummy! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
My family hated this recipe. I suppose it could be personal taste, but I didn't even use as much vinegar as the recipe suggested and it was way too much of a vinegar taste. No one would eat it. :o(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States