Pan-Fried Mustard Mayonnaise Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This was a great recipe that I will use again, the only thing I would change is that I used fresh parsley and I think it needed some seasoning salt on the fish before battering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
One star is pushing it on this one. I had nearly the same ingredients in a recipe that was broiled. And it's fantastic. I thought this would be too. Without having to turn on the broiler. NONE of the coating sticks. The fish has no flavor what so ever. Because it's all still in the skillet with the Panko chips. Do it in the broiler with the mayo/mustard and the spices in the mayo mustard and truly enjoy the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This was a quick and simple way to make this fish its tasty and easy to prepare love it I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I like that this recipe doesn't use egg....I did not have any spicy brown mustard in the house, so I used Dijon instead...gave it a nice creamy texture. It tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
My family and I loved this recipe! I noticed others had problems with getting the mustard/mayo coating to stick. What worked well for me was to rinse the fish with water and dry it with a paper towel first. The coating sticks much better that way. Great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This was quite good. Used regular bread crumbs and lightly coated the fish in flour to which the seasonings had been added, before dipping in mustard/mayo mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
The taste is definitely 5 stars, but like some of the other reviewers, I also had trouble getting the coating to stick to the fish. It's a bit tricky, and since others seem to agree, I know it's probably not just me. However...once I noticed it starting to come off, I just took a deep breath and made sure that I was VERY careful about how I flipped the fish afterward. As a result, most of the coating stuck. But if I had let myself get too easily flustered, I think it would've lost it all. The taste alone makes this one worth the effort, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
The best Tilapia recipe I have come across. It is so flavorful. I made peas with thyme in them to go with the dinner. Absolutely amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avia16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Very tasty! Following others' advice, I added salt and pepper to both sides of the fillets before generously coating with the mayo/mustard mix. To address other reviewers' comments about the breading coming off, I pressed both sides of each fish fillet into a plate of the seasoned breadcrumbs to thoroughly cover the fish. The key to not losing the breading is to NOT MOVE THE FISH once you have placed it into the pan. Cook over a medium heat for the suggested four minutes on each side, and carefully turn and place on other side, again NOT MOVING THE FISH! With added seasoning to the fish before coating, this is a winner, and I look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Turned out great, I used corn bread mix instead of Panko because that is what I had on hand, it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

How to Cook Tilapia

See how to cook this mild, versatile, and inexpensive white fish.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States