Pan-Fried Mustard Mayonnaise Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This tilapia turned out delicious!! I love panko crusted tilapia, and the mustard and mao mixture gave it a nice flavor!! I used an all purpose seasoning blend with some garlic powder and paprika. I would make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This was very tasty recipe. I broiled the fish instead of frying it and it was moist and flavourful. This will be a regular on our dinner menu. How do I add "Darcey" or anyone else to my favourite cooks when I cannot see his/her profile to clck on?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This was a great recipe that I will use again, the only thing I would change is that I used fresh parsley and I think it needed some seasoning salt on the fish before battering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
The best Tilapia recipe I have come across. It is so flavorful. I made peas with thyme in them to go with the dinner. Absolutely amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avia16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
My family and I loved this recipe! I noticed others had problems with getting the mustard/mayo coating to stick. What worked well for me was to rinse the fish with water and dry it with a paper towel first. The coating sticks much better that way. Great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Very tasty! Following others' advice, I added salt and pepper to both sides of the fillets before generously coating with the mayo/mustard mix. To address other reviewers' comments about the breading coming off, I pressed both sides of each fish fillet into a plate of the seasoned breadcrumbs to thoroughly cover the fish. The key to not losing the breading is to NOT MOVE THE FISH once you have placed it into the pan. Cook over a medium heat for the suggested four minutes on each side, and carefully turn and place on other side, again NOT MOVING THE FISH! With added seasoning to the fish before coating, this is a winner, and I look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I am not a fish eater, but I like this recipe. One tip, rinse your fish, then pat dry THOROUGHLY. This will help the coating stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
It was so nice to have fish w/ a different flavor, in this case, mustard, which was predominant. I usually prepare fish using some king of citrus, so the mustard was a very welcome change. I found the mix of mayo/mustard to be an excellent way to get a thick panko coating. Very easy recipe. Might try using fish other than tillapia or even chicken breast, sliced or pounded so it cooks quickly when pan fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This is probably my favorite way to eat Tilapia - though, I have to say, I did change something. Ugh, I know, reviewing when you change something is a cardinal sin. Anyway, in an effort to be healthy, I used all the same ingredients (but I switched to fat free mayo, though there's probably nothing healthy about that either) and I broiled it rather than frying. Delicious. Looking at another reviewer who washed her fish and dried it with a paper towel to get the coating to stick, I may try doing that and then frying, as I was finding that the coating didn't stick very well on my attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenBaking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

How to Cook Tilapia

See how to cook this mild, versatile, and inexpensive white fish.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States