Pan Fried Halibut Steak with Light Green Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I did leave out the capers because we just don't like them, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It was delicious and easy. Definitely a company type dish. My halibut was thick, about 1 inch or more, so it took longer to cook, but that was not a problem. When done, the fish flaked so easily and wasn't dry at all. I'll definitely be making this again. Don't skimp and use dried herbs. The fresh is delicious with the wine/cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
As much as I wanted to like this recipe, it did not do anything for me. I would rate it a 3, but I thought my fresh basil was still good to use after 4 days old, but it was not. I had to use dried basil and it was not good. It's not fair to entirely base a review when directions are not followed to a T. But this stated, there was only enough sauce to cover one steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I really loved this recipe, although there was nothing "green" about the sauce. Halibut is off season right now and the price reflects it - $16.99 a pound! That is just unbelievable especially living in New England! Anyways...used swordfish instead. Came out delicious. To cut down on calories I used light cream instead of heavy. Use a light hand on the lemon juice - mine was a little too tart so I added a dash more cream. I highly recommend adding the capers. Gives it just the right zip in the end. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This recipe was easy to prepare and was absolutely delicious! It was far tastier than many restaurant fish dishes I have had. I used flounder because that is what I had purchased and I think any white fish would due. I would use about 1/2 of a lemon but other than that would not change a thing! Incredible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Em
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I used tilapia and also did not add capers. Served it with mash potato and green beans. Great presentation but not very flavorful, I even added extra spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I made this with fresh grouper and it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This was great! I made it last night with tilapia as there was no halibut at the store. I also had no capers but still very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Had guests for dinner last night and was looking for something different to fix. YUM, YUM, YUM. I followed the directions exactly, except the fish monger did not have halibut so used red snapper. The flavors were spot on and we all loved this. It will become a regular. Thanks for the recipe Charter Guy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Pretty good! I didn't have any capers either. I'm going to try it with talapia next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Made this today and it was great. Didn't have capers but will get some and make it again soon for company! We love wild halibut from Alaska!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States