Pan Fried Halibut Steak with Light Green Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Great dish both in taste and presentation. Between the wine and the capers I didn't think the lemon was necessary, so I left it out and simply served the fish with lemon wedges on the side. Confident or experienced cooks needn't bother with measuring ingredients--just cook away and enjoy yourself! Pour in a glug or two of wine, reduce a bit, pour in a couple glugs of cream, then add herbs and capers to suit your taste. Simply beautiful, and simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Loved this. Super easy and fast. A delightful meal to prepare for company. Presentation is very nice when paired with yellow rice or parmesan noodles. I followed recipe exactly and the only thing I would do different next time is add half the fresh squeezed lemon. I think fresh squeezed lemon is more potent than lemon juice(?). This recipe is better than any halibut ordered from a restaurant. My dinner guests complimented the meal at least 5 different times. I will definitly make this again and try the sauce with chicken and bowtie pasta. Thank you!!!! I have made this 3 times within 2 weeks!!! Simply FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Garcia Glass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This recipe was simply amazing! I am a begginer in cooking and I had no experience cooking fish, yet this recipe was easy and delicious! When I first tasted the sauce I though it was too lemony, but it tasted great with the fish. Because of my inexpierience, I used talpia (which is much less expensive than halibut) and I left out the capers because I don't have much of a taste for them. My family loved it, and it was easy too. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This is a basic Piccata recipe (just omit the basil). True, not all cooks have the instinct for quantities with ingredients. I recommend 1-2 table spoons of Lemon and try (substituting seasoned salt for regular salt)sifting salt, pepper, and flour together (adjusting to personal taste), reducing heat and returning fish or chicken to sauce and simmering in sauce for 2-3 additional minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmericanInZurich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
A quick and tasty dinner. We enjoyed this. I only had processed herbs on hand. It did alter the taste a little I think, which is why I have only rated it 3 stars. I cut the fat by using evaporated milk instead of cream. I think this would work with any firm white fish. I used ling as I did not have any halibut at hand. Served with steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
very yummy sauce! we used orange roughy. fried it with a little diced onion and garlic. we added green onion to the sauce. very easy meal with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Very tasty. I used 1/2 a lemon and still felt it was quite a bit tangy. I had to add more cream to have enough sauce as well. Still tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Served over sea bass; it was just ok. The flavors weren't anything extraordinary and I wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I used tilapia instead of halibut. We loved it and I have made it many times since finding this recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
One of my favorites. I use thick filets and cut them into squares.....SOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States