Pan Fried Halibut Steak with Light Green Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I substituted 1/2 & 1/2 for the cream and used Talapia instead of halibut, but otherwise made as is. Huge hit! The sauce would be good on chicken too. I would recommend doubling the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
What a great recipe. Delicious. My husband raved about how good this recipe turned out. I thought it was out of this world. Next time I make this recipe, I will leave out the flour dusting part. I feel it doesn't really add anything to the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was just okay to me. Didn't care for the sauce that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This was very good. I rated it a 5; my husband a 3. Made some changes due to other reviews. Used half olive oil half butter to fry the fish. Doubled the wine, used 1/2 cup of reg milk and a 1/4 cup sour cream. Only used 1 T of capers. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Incredible fish recipe. By far my favorite. Really brown the fish in butter till it is crispy. (I used thick tilapia fillets.) This makes the fish beautiful, and is the start of a wonderful presentation. I TRIPLED the sauce, and simmered it for a little over 30 minutes till it was reduced enough to be thick. This is key....do NOT rush the reduction time. Trust me, it is worth the wait. I squeezed half a lemon into my sauce, by the way, and had zero problems with curdling like some say they had. Do not leave the lemon out, it is essential to the sauce! After reducing sufficiently, pour sauce over your golden brown fillet. Heaven. Thanks charter guy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
The pan-fried fish (I used tilapia) was very good and quick and easy to make. However, the sauce curdled and looked like sand sinking to the bottom of the pan, leaving the liquid on top (maybe because of the lemon, as someone else suggested?). The flavor of the sauce I wasn't too crazy about, either. I'd make the fish again, but definitely will NOT make the sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyoooootie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lee, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This came out really good, but I made a couple of small changes- baked the fish and replaced heavy cream with fat free half and half. The store didn't have Halibut, so I used flounder. Also, the lemon curdled the half and half, so I remade the sauce without it. I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Great recipe! I omitted lemon due to allergies. Halibut is expensive and not readily available everywhere. Try Cod if you are from New England. (Buy the previosly frozen. Cod can be prone to worms and if frozen the worms leave the fish flesh as it freezes.) Gross but true! When the men come in from fishing,k I always freeze the catch of the day for this reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Great dish both in taste and presentation. Between the wine and the capers I didn't think the lemon was necessary, so I left it out and simply served the fish with lemon wedges on the side. Confident or experienced cooks needn't bother with measuring ingredients--just cook away and enjoy yourself! Pour in a glug or two of wine, reduce a bit, pour in a couple glugs of cream, then add herbs and capers to suit your taste. Simply beautiful, and simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States