Pan Fried Halibut Steak with Light Green Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I used whiting fish, and my husband loooved it. i didn't use any capers since i didnt have any. I added 2 tbs of feta cheese in the sauce. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
The cooking method is very good and the halibut was very tasty and moist. I found the sauce to be sour, added quite a bit of salt to counter the sour. If I try it again, I'll substitute chicken broth for the wine (I used sherry). That could be just my tastes, as I'm not a wine fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I liked it quite a bit, my husband liked it much better without the capers. I made as written, except that I couldnt find halibut so used talapia like so many reviews suggested. I would make again for sure, but we have other fish receipes that we like better, but this is still a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
The recipe is wonderful, and can be customized if you want it to have less calories. I used just a spray oil and a tablespoon of Olivio, I just brushed the fish with a tablespoon of flour, and I used skim milk instead of cream. I had no fresh basil or parsley, so I used frozen basil and dried parsley. It was still delicious! Next time I will use fresh herbs and it will be even better. A real company dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This was good, but not the fully spectacular flavor that I was after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Excellent recipe. In a separate pan I sauted mushrooms & garlic in butter, then added that to the sauce before spooning it over the fish. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This recipes was very good. I followed recipe exactly other than I seasoned with old bay seasoning. Also, I usually like to double sauces, but on this one, do not, I did and had so much sauce leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I was looking for a recipe for fish that had a sauce a little bit different than what you would expect to find. This one caught my eye. It was really, really good. My husband and I both enjoyed it. I made the recipe as written and won't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimz11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I think I messed this up by worrying that the sauce was too thin...when in fact is should have been. I thickened with flour at the end..so my sauce was gloppy. Also- I used lemon juice as I did not have a lemon...and I think I was too conservative with it. Still- fish was perfectly cooked and sauce was great...I just think it would have been better had I followed the directions! Be sure to double the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I substituted 1/2 & 1/2 for the cream and used Talapia instead of halibut, but otherwise made as is. Huge hit! The sauce would be good on chicken too. I would recommend doubling the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States