Pan Fried Halibut Steak with Light Green Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Great dish both in taste and presentation. Between the wine and the capers I didn't think the lemon was necessary, so I left it out and simply served the fish with lemon wedges on the side. Confident or experienced cooks needn't bother with measuring ingredients--just cook away and enjoy yourself! Pour in a glug or two of wine, reduce a bit, pour in a couple glugs of cream, then add herbs and capers to suit your taste. Simply beautiful, and simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This is fantastic! My 2 kids and hubby could not stop raving about it-definitely restaurant quality! I will make this again and again! Fairly simple (as long as you have all the ingredients on hand) and it makes for a beautiful presentation. I did not add the capers though. I served this dish with french bread (bread is a must for the yummy sauce), and garlic-parmesan green beans. I am not sure if the green bean recipe is from here or not-I got it somewhere online! You snap off both ends of the fresh green beans, blanch them in a pan in enough water to cover, strain & run under cold water, return to the pan and stir fry them in some butter. Then sprinkle them with garlic salt, pepper, and a good amount of parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gwyfin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I don't like it when recipes don't give specific measurements like "one lemon, juiced", The amount of juice one lemon contains can vary greatly. Mine must have been extra juicey because I thought this was way too lemony. My husband raved about it though. The halibut was very good after I scraped most of the sauce off of mine. If I make this again, I will add the lemon juice one tablespoon at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by Surferess
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Halibut is so expensive and hard to get. I am on a low fat diet, so I left out the butter and cream. Also I am short on fresh herbs, so I used dry. Served it on a nice bed of greens with a light vinegrette. See photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Surferess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
My mother and I spent 15 minutes talking about how delicious this recipe was. I didn't even add capers (forgot). I used light butter, and used half the basil and parsley (for 2 halibut steaks), and 1/4 cup of the heavy cream, used one lemon, etc. I thought the sauce would boil away but it didn't. My mother doesn't drink any alcohol so I added mine after I dished hers out. I did not use salt, instead using a very light sprinkle of Cajun seasoning (I'm supposed to not use salt, so I cheat with Cajun seasoning, which has salt but it makes me feel like I'm not using salt). I had leftover halibut from a seafood company that delivers, and swore I couldn't wait to never buy halibut again, but I've changed my mind. This was EXCELLENT. I am shocked at how good it was. And I am no chef. I usually don't follow directions well (hence, no capers). I ate salad with no dressing to go with the meal, as I'm trying to watch my weight. Haven't added up the calories but it was as filling as eating 2 potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G T

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
The store was out of halibut, so I used the mild talipa instead and I think it worked great with the reduction sauce. I wouldn't suggest using salmon. My only other suggestion would be to try not to dawdle in making the sauce, and plate as quickly as possibe. Served with creamed spinach and parsley as decoration, and it looked great. Will definetly make again, maybe with halibut next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I've tried numerous great recipes from this site but this is the first one I've written a review for. I made this recipe over the weekend and it was amazing!!! I followed it exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing! I've been craving the sauce ever since and can't wait to make it again. Thanks Charter Guy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This is such a great recipe, both my husband and I love it - especially how easy it is to prepare. We've made it many times with different types of white fish and its always turned out great. Better to use fresh lemon then lemon juice. Its great when served with mashed potatoes or couscous since both absorb the sauce nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Fayette, New York, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Loved this. Super easy and fast. A delightful meal to prepare for company. Presentation is very nice when paired with yellow rice or parmesan noodles. I followed recipe exactly and the only thing I would do different next time is add half the fresh squeezed lemon. I think fresh squeezed lemon is more potent than lemon juice(?). This recipe is better than any halibut ordered from a restaurant. My dinner guests complimented the meal at least 5 different times. I will definitly make this again and try the sauce with chicken and bowtie pasta. Thank you!!!! I have made this 3 times within 2 weeks!!! Simply FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Garcia Glass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I loved this recipe! So so simple...the preparation time is minimal, and the end product looks and tastes amazing! The only change I would make next time is to double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEAMERICAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States