Pan Fried Halibut Steak with Light Green Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I'm preparing this recipe for the second time tonight, using Dover sole, again. The sauce is lovely, and sole being so thin, the dish is very delicate and the fish melts in your mouth. Thanks, Charter Guy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
The sause is amazing. I made it with shrimp because my husband hates fish. Greatwith added mushrooms, garlic, and served over couscous with broccoli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
After reading the reviews, I doubled the sauce.I used tilapia because the store did not have halibut. Like some one else said mine was way to lemony. My husband scraped most of the sauce off his. I let the kids taste the sauce before serving and they passed on the sauce and just ate the fish(but they thought the fish was really good).I might give this one more try but next time I won't double the sauce and will add less lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I did leave out the capers because we just don't like them, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It was delicious and easy. Definitely a company type dish. My halibut was thick, about 1 inch or more, so it took longer to cook, but that was not a problem. When done, the fish flaked so easily and wasn't dry at all. I'll definitely be making this again. Don't skimp and use dried herbs. The fresh is delicious with the wine/cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
As much as I wanted to like this recipe, it did not do anything for me. I would rate it a 3, but I thought my fresh basil was still good to use after 4 days old, but it was not. I had to use dried basil and it was not good. It's not fair to entirely base a review when directions are not followed to a T. But this stated, there was only enough sauce to cover one steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I really loved this recipe, although there was nothing "green" about the sauce. Halibut is off season right now and the price reflects it - $16.99 a pound! That is just unbelievable especially living in New England! Anyways...used swordfish instead. Came out delicious. To cut down on calories I used light cream instead of heavy. Use a light hand on the lemon juice - mine was a little too tart so I added a dash more cream. I highly recommend adding the capers. Gives it just the right zip in the end. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This recipe was easy to prepare and was absolutely delicious! It was far tastier than many restaurant fish dishes I have had. I used flounder because that is what I had purchased and I think any white fish would due. I would use about 1/2 of a lemon but other than that would not change a thing! Incredible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Em
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I used tilapia and also did not add capers. Served it with mash potato and green beans. Great presentation but not very flavorful, I even added extra spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I made this with fresh grouper and it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This was great! I made it last night with tilapia as there was no halibut at the store. I also had no capers but still very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States