Pan Fried Halibut Steak with Light Green Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Excellent and easy. Very flavorful and my guests really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I've tried numerous great recipes from this site but this is the first one I've written a review for. I made this recipe over the weekend and it was amazing!!! I followed it exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing! I've been craving the sauce ever since and can't wait to make it again. Thanks Charter Guy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
You know what? This recipe is really good. I prepared this to recipe for my wife using two halibut steaks in place of the four called for in the recipe. The only change I made was to substitute dried basil for fresh. In addition, I grilled two salmon steaks on a grill using butter and dill. I placed the salmon with halibut and poured the sauce over all. It was absolutely delicious! The salmon was as good as any I have had in fine restaurants. Try this, you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This is a great recipe, easy fast and very sophisticated taste. I only had fresh basil on hand, and it was fabulous. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
My mother and I spent 15 minutes talking about how delicious this recipe was. I didn't even add capers (forgot). I used light butter, and used half the basil and parsley (for 2 halibut steaks), and 1/4 cup of the heavy cream, used one lemon, etc. I thought the sauce would boil away but it didn't. My mother doesn't drink any alcohol so I added mine after I dished hers out. I did not use salt, instead using a very light sprinkle of Cajun seasoning (I'm supposed to not use salt, so I cheat with Cajun seasoning, which has salt but it makes me feel like I'm not using salt). I had leftover halibut from a seafood company that delivers, and swore I couldn't wait to never buy halibut again, but I've changed my mind. This was EXCELLENT. I am shocked at how good it was. And I am no chef. I usually don't follow directions well (hence, no capers). I ate salad with no dressing to go with the meal, as I'm trying to watch my weight. Haven't added up the calories but it was as filling as eating 2 potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G T

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
My husband raved about this recipe when I made it for him - restaurant quality! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murdock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
yummy, yummy, yummy. This is really good fish. It inspired me to make fish tacos. I just pulled the fish fillets apart and drizzled the sauce over the fish inside a lightly fried corn tortilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
This recipe was five stars for us. It was delicious. Not only did Charter Guy develop a wonderful recipe we also caught the halibut with him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Surferess
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Halibut is so expensive and hard to get. I am on a low fat diet, so I left out the butter and cream. Also I am short on fresh herbs, so I used dry. Served it on a nice bed of greens with a light vinegrette. See photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Surferess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This is such a great recipe, both my husband and I love it - especially how easy it is to prepare. We've made it many times with different types of white fish and its always turned out great. Better to use fresh lemon then lemon juice. Its great when served with mashed potatoes or couscous since both absorb the sauce nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Fayette, New York, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States