Pan Fried Halibut Steak with Light Green Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I was tired of the same boring way to make fish. I did not have capers or fresh herbs on hand. I also had white fish. So, I did without capers altogether and used dried herbs instead. I thought what the heck I will try this with the white fish and see what happens. This dish was still amazing! I will not be making plain white fish again!!! YAY! Thanks for the recipe! Thanks for All-Recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
this was too lemony. I had to add other spices to it and a 1/4 more wine to it. as the flavor was flat and for an expensive piece of meat that is hard to swollow,It is possible the taste was not even close to what it shouldhave been because I did not have capers.I am not even sure what capors are. so this may not be a very fair assessment. Thank you for sharig your recipe with us. Always, Christine C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Excellent! I did not have parsley but otherwise I followed the directions exactly and it was one of the best meals ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
My husband and I have made this 3 times in the last 2 months exactly as directed and it is awesome. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I used halibut filets and left them cooking in the pan while adding the wine, lemon, etc...no need to measure, probably used only half a lemon, but more wine and cream- great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This recipe boasts maximum flavor for minimum effort! I used a combination of olive oil and butter to fry the halibut in and used light cream instead of heavy cream. My lemon was huge so I used the juice of only half a lemon and it was perfect. Not only was this a tasty dish but a pretty one, as well, served with a stir fry of fresh corn, zucchini, red onion and red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I was hesitant about this recipe, but I gotta tell ya - I added a little extra (a little extra cream and lemon juice to make more sauce and used sweet wine rather than dry) and it was comparable to a 5-star restaurant. Phenomenal meal! We will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This dish was easy and very good - the directions allowed me to perfectly pan fry the fish - something that I have struggled with for some reason in the past. The sauce was very good, very lemony, as others mentioned. The cream wanted to curdle when I added it to the the lemon/butter/wine sauce, but I did it in a slower drizzle while wisking quickly and it eliminated the curdles. The sauce does taste like it is missing something, which is why I only gave it 4 stars. The lemon flaver dominiates over any other flavor in the sauce, so I will have to work to make it a little more complex of a flavor. Great over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NUNPUNCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This is a delicious dish. I used a 1/4 lemon juice and a reisling white wine. It was perfect. I only used one portion of halibut and adjusted ingredients accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Yummy! It's easy and fast. You can use any type of fish. Recommend lightly rubbing a lemon over the fish to get rid of the extra strong fishy taste. My husband stated if he ordered this at a restaurant... he would be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States