Pan Fried Halibut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Flavor was good but i didn't like how the crust became soggy. I think it's because of the egg. I usually cover with flour only. Also, i find that 1 cup of flour is too much. For one pound of fish sliced in fingers, i hardly used half of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I did not change a thing....My husband does not like fish but LOVED this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedGem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I drastically over cooked mine (my fault NOT the fault of the recipe) however; the flavors were still very good. will make again....and watch my cooking times better :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Delicious! To make this healthier, I browned the halibut in oil to get the color and crust set, and then roasted in the oven at 350 for about 15 minutes, since I like my fish well done. We really enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
The whole family LOVED this recipe. The best halibut since our visit to Alaska a couple of years ago. There was a lot of extra flour mixture left over. Next time I will use half the flour and spices, as it didn't take much to coat 1 lb of halibut. Cooking time was just right, don't expect the fish to brown as much as the photo though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This is delicious and so quick to prepare! I have never been a big fan of halibut but this recipe changed my mind. Funny I have never thought to combine Old Bay and hers de Provence before, they blend so nicely. And the cooking directions here were spot on, though I did cook my husband's piece for about 5 minutes at 400 because he likes his fish more well done than I do. Recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Really liked this recipe. At first I thought It was a joke because I don't usually fry fish in olive oil nor use flour for batter, but it worked! Really outstanding. Using 1/2 the flour with the same amount of spice, but no salt. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I am a pretty inexperienced cook & have always been a bit intimidated with trying to "bread" things. This was simple, quick, and the fish was so tasty! It's a basic start, easy to embelish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Quick to make, delicious to eat. Take care not to over cook the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States