Pan Fried Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
After reading the other posts, I was NOT going to sacrifice my pans for a 'decent' dish. SO, I sprayed it with cooking spray, then let everything get nice and toasty. It worked fine and I didn't lose my favorite saute pan. The next time I made it, I revamped the entire recipe by adding fresh garlic and onion and a small squirt of lemon juice to 'carmelize everything instead of blacken everything. That just tasted better for us. Thanks for the jumpstart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I was a little scared to try this but I am glad I did! This was very tasty. I will warn you, your pan will be very dirty! But here is a great tip... Put some dish soap in the pan and a few inches of hot water. Boil on the stove top and the burnt on spices with just lift off. You may need to scrape the pan a few times as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
A little oily but good-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I make these beans a lot! My husband doesn't eat green beans any other way. I add fresh garlic to the beans instead of powder. I also add a splash of Balsamic Vinegar on occassion. We really love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I added lemon pepper by accident, and it was pretty good. I would think you can pretty much add any favorite seasoning to suit your family. I liked the slightly "burned" or grilled flavor too. I added about a tablespoon of white wine right before I turned the heat off to help get all the bits off the bottom of the pan; that helped with clean-up too! I also soaked the pan over night and had no problem getting it clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
I was inspired to try this because my mother makes a similar dish. The difference being the green beans are sauteed in freshly chopped onions and olive oil. The garlic was a nice addition. We prefer the flavor of the fresh onions but will now add garlic as well. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
I cut the oil dramatically, like to a splash. I sooo wanted to add it while the beans were "burning" but restrained myself. The taste was good, but it did take a while to get to the "burn" stage. Nobody commented on if they liked or disliked them, so I'll hang with a 3. Thanks Shearyah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Excellent!! My mother-in-law cooks hers with hot Italian Sausage - an old Italian recipe - and it is fantastic. This is healthier and very good too. I sauted in the olive oil for a few minutes before turning off the heat, and added fresh minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDI22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I made it exactly as instructed and it was outstanding! I was skeptical when I first read it, but this is now going to be my standard method for cooking green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Tasty side dish, but I cut way back on the olive oil or it would have been a little too greasy for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States