Pan Fried Filets with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Used some red wine and olive oil during the simmer instead of the butter. Had some American Idol strawberry swirl ice cream in the freezer - this concoction was pretty darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coolmonkshoes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
At first when I read this recipe I was a bit leary of the jelly and ice cream. When I made it for my hubby he LOVED it and he is very particular about his filet! I've made it since for my Dad and my brother and they both loved it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Good. I will try again, a little more salt and less ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Merrill, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
It wasn't around long enough to take a picture 'cause it was SO GOOD! I was so tempted to use a splash of red wine to deglaze because I only had powdered bullion, but the flavours were FANtastic anyway! It tastes like something you would order in a fancy restaurant. My steak was absolutely perfect (rare) but I had to cut my husband's steak (must be well-done) into thick strips to finish it because the mushrooms were threatening to burn. Then, with both steaks in the pan (mine to reheat, his to finish) I started the finishing steps for the amazing sauce by swirling around the pan so the juices would get around and under the steak and mushrooms. The plating was gorgeous! We had been 'Christmas snacking' all day, so all I needed was the garlic mashed potatoes (no pepper--just marg and cream)to add to the plate. My husband LOVED it! I used black currant jam and Real mushrooms, too. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This recipe sounds scary, but give it a try! It's a little sweet but sooo good! We served it for dinner guests everyone loved and no one guessed there was ice cream in the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Absolutely delicious. Serve this to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY!! Okay everyone this is it, this recipe is delicious!! I made it for my hudband and two kids and it was a winner all around! The only thing I did was put less mushrooms into it, cause we are not huge fans!! If you are having a formal dinner this would work. It looks beautiful after you frizzle the sauce onto the steaks. And when they take a bite mmmm what a suprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catrinamarie78
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
I found this sauce to be too sweet, however I'm giving it 4 stars because my Mother really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
this was the first meal ive ever made and it turned out perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Five stars for creativity and taste. I used thin-cut petite sirloin steak and it turned out great. The mushrooms really make the sauce and the jam and icecream add sweetness, but not too much. Definitely worth a try. I may have let the sauce simmer too long, but it was just enough for my husband and I, and I made the full amount. You may need more for 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Living In: Cainta, Rizal, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States