Pan Fried Filets with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
A web gem! I used fresh mushrooms and deglazed with dry sherry. This is truly gormet beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I'm sorry to say that I was disappointed in the recipe. I think the ice cream made the sauce overpoweringly sweet. Up until that point, I thought the sauce was very good sooooo, from now on I'll either just eliminate the ice cream or possibly try heavy cream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This recipe was terrific. Entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I loved this sauce.I wanted something different because with my children they are so picky and I get tired of the same thing.My oldest daughter loved it.Thank you for a very easy sauce that made my dinner very good and different.I will make this again.Also I didn't have the ice cream but used milk instead and the sauce was still excellent.I'm going to try other jellies and even put it on fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This was very good. Next time I would use a little less icecream. The sauce was a little to sweet but over all pretty different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Terrific recipe! I made a few changes with what was on hand.Boysenberry jam that I had open. Replaced the ice cream with 2 Tbls. whipping cream that I had for another use, and substituted the lemon juice with a splash of Cianti! Served it with Knorr's Butter & Herb Noodles, and a fresh salad of baby greens, pears, and gorgonzola cheese, spritzed with balsamic dressing. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ Bev

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
easy, fast and delicious. A great way to cook steak..Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Saving the liquid from mushrooms is fine if you are using dried mushrooms but canned is salt water! Using dried mushrooms add a cup of hot water to 3 oz of dried mushrooms and let stand for a hour. Then remove the mushrooms strain the liquid through cheese cloth and continue with the recipe or deglaze the pan with red wine instead of the canned water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JJnicespice
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Altered this recipe to our taste as follows: Used fresh mushrooms instead of canned, used currant jelly instead of strawberry and substituted a fruity white wine for vanilla ice cream. Pan searing the filet made it extra juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJnicespice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I had to alter the recipe a bit due to dairy allergies, used vanilla soy milk in place of vanilla ice cream. Loved the flavor of the mushrooms, but the sauce was a weird color, too sweet and lacked depth. It was not bad, but not even close to restaurant quality and I definitely would not serve to guests. I might take the mushroom part of recipe and use a port or dessert wine glaze instead of the jelly and ice cream, but will not make again as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States