Pan Fried Eggplant with Saffron Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I expected so much more from this after all the reviews and was hoping to use this to wow friends at a tapas dinner, but after trying this at home I was a little underwhelmed. I even had saffron that I had brought back from a trip to Spain, that I used. It didn't present very pretty on the plate and the saffron mayo that everyone raved about didn't do a thing for me. Maybe my pinch wasn't big enough, even though the mayo turned yellow. The spices in the eggplant were really good, but overall it didn't meet my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I used Asian eggplant. Good, but wasn't totally sold on the saffron mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
So simple but so tasty!! Everyone who's tried it loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Eggplant fried is delicious. I've never had saffron but a pinch of tumeric works great in this recipe. I added 4 cloves of garlic to try to consume less mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I followed the recipe almost exact. I used a lot of cayenne pepper & garlic powder. I'm glad I tried this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Super easy! The cayenne pepper gave the eggplant a tasty zing! The saffron mayonnaise was a hit. It was fun because this was the first I used saffron in a recipe. My family went nuts trying to guess the secret ingredient for the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I made these last night as a side dish and my hubby and I really liked it. I followed the recipe exactly but did find, however, that both the eggplant and the mayo needed more seasoning/zing (this could just be my personal preference), so next time I will adjust my seasonings to suit my tastes. I will also experiment with baking/broiling instead of frying, and/or using plain yogurt, to cut down on the fat content. Will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Made this dish last night--it is amazing! I served eggplant as strips and the saffron mayonnaise is spectacular. Included some diced red pepper for color and extra zing. Serve piping hot and they will surely be quickly devoured. Many Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I love pan fried eggplants to begin with. But this sauce is just heaven like. The key is suffron. It made a HUGE difference. I absolutely will make this again and share it with my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This is an excellent recipe! Don't skip the saffron mayonnaise! It adds just the right touch to the eggplant. I think this dish is best eaten immediately - piping hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States