Pan Fried Daikon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This is a great use of a daikon radish, but the picture is deceiving. The taste was fine, a bit bland. I would up the Sriracha or put in something that gives it more taste. Do salt the daikon beforehand - I even strained and squeezed it out with paper towel. Very watery. My "cakes" came out wetter than wished before frying and therefore the middle wasn't so done, but still was good. This is a very creative use for these cakes and I would say play around with this recipe and figure out what works for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I must not have drained my radishes enough because my mixture ended up being too wet to form into patties. I added a little more breadcrumbs and then pressed the mix into small rectangular dishes and stuck them in the freezer for an hour before trying to fry. These turned out very good. I think I will try adding diced shrimp next time for added flavor but good as written too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
So good! I used more Sriacha (a really good squirt) but followed everything else (pan frying, not the large amount of oil). Used a spicy sauce to cover, such as Dillapeno, Garlic Aioli Mustard Sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I made this a lot healthier by baking the cakes on a cookie sheet lightly sprayed with a cooking spray. 10 - 12 minutes per side, in a pre-heated 425 degree oven resulted in crispy, nicely browned cakes. I also used Egg Beaters, instead of eggs to further reduce calories. My 4 star rating is based on the seasonings... I think they could be improved. Next time, I plan to try Old Bay seasoning, with plain bread crumbs (Panko), instead of the Italian seasoned bread crumbs. Overall, I really enjoyed these and will definitely try them again. Perhaps, I'll someday try adding diced Chinese sausage, as with the more traditional recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
be careful that the bread crumbs you use don't already have spices, especially salt. Ours were a wee bit salty because we did not consider this, but otherwise excellent. Am thinking about modifying a bit by dipping in egg and panko. Had some like that in China and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Delicious - the perfect use for the random daikon I had in the fridge. Didn't change anything, though I sweated the daikon on paper towel, and then squeezed out all the water I could before making the batter. Fried in a wok on high, 3 patties at a time for 90 seconds each side. They turned out crispy & full of flavour. Making some more tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Very good recipe. I had told my husband that I was going to try a new vegetable and I chose a daikon radish!! This recipe was a great introduction to a new veggie and we both enjoyed it and I would make it again. I mixed some sarachi and mayo for some dipping sauce along with teriyaki pork loin. It made for a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
this was better than words can describe you must try it. I grated it as one reader suggested and left in frig overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Great recipe for an item we don't usually find in our kitchen. They even reheated well, and I was able to get my teenager to eat some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Very simple to make, though I did have to add an extra egg to keep it all together when I fried it. Maybe I didn't squeeze out enough water from the radish? I also used only half the salt it called for, and a touch more garlic-siracha (yum). I ate these with sour cream, and my husband garnished his with more siracha. Next time I will grate the onion instead of mincing it. You could easily add in zucchini or grated potato too. I could see making these as vegetable pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States