Pan Fried Catfish Filets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
This was the first time using this recipes for fried catfish. It was great! Did make one change and used 1 teaspoon of garlic instead of the garlic cloves. Hubsand is already asking when I'm going to make it for dinner again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
I noticed the question about mercury content in catfish. As I understand it, mercury content is of concern for ocean fish such as tuna, shark, etc. Catfish, being a river or farm raised fish, is not one of the fish that we are supposed to limit in our diets due to mercury. Same goes for Salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
I really like this recipe, never made catfish before, but it came out great.. I used a more flavor neutral vegetable oil instead of olive, and I also added more cayenne because I'm from the South and love spicy food. I probably added an extra 1/2 tsp, but next time I think I'll add more. Also, maybe my filets were thin, but I didn't need to cook them as long as the recipe called for, a minute or two less on each side actually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Absolutely fantastic! I rubbed the fish with Adobo seasoning on both sides before dredging it in the cornmeal coating. I did not use the milk. The fish already had enough moisture for the coating to stick to. I recommend seasoning the fish in some manner (eg salt and pepper or Adobo) before adding the coating. Doing so enhances the overall flavor. Also, this recipe creates a lot of cornmeal seasoning. Store some for later before using the rest to coat the fish, or else you'll be throwing away alot of excess cornmeal seasoning mix. Regarding concerns on cooking thick pieces of fish, I used a cast iron skillet which holds and distributes heat well. You can turn down the heat to slow down the cooking if needed. Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Rakic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Delicious! We have an abundance of catfish around here, and I am always lookiing for different ways to prepare it and this will definitely be added to my catfish menu rotation. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
Very Tasty! The farm raised catfish available to me really needs something added for flavor, and this did the trick. Good foundation for experiments too. As RE: Mercury - Check with your State Fish & Game. Some waters, particularly in old industrialized areas (like upstate New York where I lived), are very polluted and they can advise what to avoid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I made this last night and it was fabulous. I deep fried it so I used quite a bit more oil. I didn't bother with the garlic and I don't think it was needed. The only other difference is that I deep fried it and it was nice and crispy. I felt that it was quite easy to put together, too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This breading is also great with flounder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I used a packaged fish fry mix and just added garlic powder, onion powder, and paprika. The mix already had a good amount of cayenne and also had some lemon juice added to it. My fish turned out very flavorful and juicy. And yes, make sure your oil is hot enough before laying anything battered in it or else the batter 'melts' off and burns into a clumpy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
this is great, although it didnt need anything, i added a egg to the milk to give it a more thicker coating and some cajun seasoning, to make a little more spicier, the fish turned out exqusite and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Chef John's Miso-Glazed Barramundi

A light, flavorful Asian-inspired glaze for a mild, flakey white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States