Pan Fried Catfish Filets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
This recipe was quick and simple. I had some thick filets that did not get done when the crust looked done so I put them in the oven. They turned out great. This dish is kind of hot. My 6 year old did not eat the crust because it was to hot for her. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
I won't make this again. A much better coating is Italian bread crumbs with Seasoned Salt and more Oregano. Dip fish in milk/egg, coat with coating and fry. Serve with lemon juice. Works with any lean fish like perch, walleye, catfish etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Absolutely fantastic! I rubbed the fish with Adobo seasoning on both sides before dredging it in the cornmeal coating. I did not use the milk. The fish already had enough moisture for the coating to stick to. I recommend seasoning the fish in some manner (eg salt and pepper or Adobo) before adding the coating. Doing so enhances the overall flavor. Also, this recipe creates a lot of cornmeal seasoning. Store some for later before using the rest to coat the fish, or else you'll be throwing away alot of excess cornmeal seasoning mix. Regarding concerns on cooking thick pieces of fish, I used a cast iron skillet which holds and distributes heat well. You can turn down the heat to slow down the cooking if needed. Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Rakic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
I noticed the question about mercury content in catfish. As I understand it, mercury content is of concern for ocean fish such as tuna, shark, etc. Catfish, being a river or farm raised fish, is not one of the fish that we are supposed to limit in our diets due to mercury. Same goes for Salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
As written, it isn't terrible, but there are some issues. The garlic tends to burn easily, and the fish really doesn't need it; but if you want that flavor, use some garlic powder in the seasoning. The seasonings listed aren't bad at all, but cajun seasoning is even better. Whatever seasoning you use, use it directly on the fish. It gives it awesome flavor. Lightly coat the fish in flour before dipping in milk, too. It helps attach the crust to the fish a little better. And as a matter of personal taste, split the cornmeal with half flour. I think it makes for a more cohesive crust. The salt is not listed on the ingredients list, but it is essential. Make sure not to miss it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BNMacKenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I used a packaged fish fry mix and just added garlic powder, onion powder, and paprika. The mix already had a good amount of cayenne and also had some lemon juice added to it. My fish turned out very flavorful and juicy. And yes, make sure your oil is hot enough before laying anything battered in it or else the batter 'melts' off and burns into a clumpy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
This recipe was good. As always when frying, be sure the oil is hot enough before adding your fish. Otherwise, you'll end up with a not-so-tasty disaster (which I did the on my first attempt at this recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
I wish I had put these in the oven to finish them off, too -- the fillets were thick and I overcooked them on the stove. Unfortunately the olive oil gave these a funny taste (I wish I had used canola oil) and the overcooking caused the garlic to taste bitter. Ick. Seasoning was yummers, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
If I were to make this again, I would cut the corn meal in half and add 1 cup of flour and add some garlic, maybe some kosher salt, something to add some flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holladay, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I made this last night and it was fabulous. I deep fried it so I used quite a bit more oil. I didn't bother with the garlic and I don't think it was needed. The only other difference is that I deep fried it and it was nice and crispy. I felt that it was quite easy to put together, too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Chef John's Miso-Glazed Barramundi

A light, flavorful Asian-inspired glaze for a mild, flakey white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States