Pan Fried Catfish Filets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
This recipe was quick and simple. I had some thick filets that did not get done when the crust looked done so I put them in the oven. They turned out great. This dish is kind of hot. My 6 year old did not eat the crust because it was to hot for her. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
I noticed the question about mercury content in catfish. As I understand it, mercury content is of concern for ocean fish such as tuna, shark, etc. Catfish, being a river or farm raised fish, is not one of the fish that we are supposed to limit in our diets due to mercury. Same goes for Salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
I wish I had put these in the oven to finish them off, too -- the fillets were thick and I overcooked them on the stove. Unfortunately the olive oil gave these a funny taste (I wish I had used canola oil) and the overcooking caused the garlic to taste bitter. Ick. Seasoning was yummers, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I tried this last night and give it 3 stars. My husband and I both really liked the cayenne flavoring to it, but the garlic was a bit much. It was very easy to make. I think next time I'll make it without the garlic and see how it goes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
This recipe was good. As always when frying, be sure the oil is hot enough before adding your fish. Otherwise, you'll end up with a not-so-tasty disaster (which I did the on my first attempt at this recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
Nothing very complicated. I used egg beaters, or other fake egg product, instead of milk. Leftover filets I use for sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
I really like this recipe, never made catfish before, but it came out great.. I used a more flavor neutral vegetable oil instead of olive, and I also added more cayenne because I'm from the South and love spicy food. I probably added an extra 1/2 tsp, but next time I think I'll add more. Also, maybe my filets were thin, but I didn't need to cook them as long as the recipe called for, a minute or two less on each side actually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
Very Tasty! The farm raised catfish available to me really needs something added for flavor, and this did the trick. Good foundation for experiments too. As RE: Mercury - Check with your State Fish & Game. Some waters, particularly in old industrialized areas (like upstate New York where I lived), are very polluted and they can advise what to avoid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
This was the first time using this recipes for fried catfish. It was great! Did make one change and used 1 teaspoon of garlic instead of the garlic cloves. Hubsand is already asking when I'm going to make it for dinner again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Chef John's Miso-Glazed Barramundi

A light, flavorful Asian-inspired glaze for a mild, flakey white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States