Pan Fried Catfish Filets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
I won't make this again. A much better coating is Italian bread crumbs with Seasoned Salt and more Oregano. Dip fish in milk/egg, coat with coating and fry. Serve with lemon juice. Works with any lean fish like perch, walleye, catfish etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I think this would be better by just adding some garlic powder to the cornmeal mixture and frying in canola oil. I will try it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
This was the first time using this recipes for fried catfish. It was great! Did make one change and used 1 teaspoon of garlic instead of the garlic cloves. Hubsand is already asking when I'm going to make it for dinner again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
Very Tasty! The farm raised catfish available to me really needs something added for flavor, and this did the trick. Good foundation for experiments too. As RE: Mercury - Check with your State Fish & Game. Some waters, particularly in old industrialized areas (like upstate New York where I lived), are very polluted and they can advise what to avoid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
I really like this recipe, never made catfish before, but it came out great.. I used a more flavor neutral vegetable oil instead of olive, and I also added more cayenne because I'm from the South and love spicy food. I probably added an extra 1/2 tsp, but next time I think I'll add more. Also, maybe my filets were thin, but I didn't need to cook them as long as the recipe called for, a minute or two less on each side actually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
Nothing very complicated. I used egg beaters, or other fake egg product, instead of milk. Leftover filets I use for sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
This recipe was good. As always when frying, be sure the oil is hot enough before adding your fish. Otherwise, you'll end up with a not-so-tasty disaster (which I did the on my first attempt at this recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I tried this last night and give it 3 stars. My husband and I both really liked the cayenne flavoring to it, but the garlic was a bit much. It was very easy to make. I think next time I'll make it without the garlic and see how it goes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
I wish I had put these in the oven to finish them off, too -- the fillets were thick and I overcooked them on the stove. Unfortunately the olive oil gave these a funny taste (I wish I had used canola oil) and the overcooking caused the garlic to taste bitter. Ick. Seasoning was yummers, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States