Pan Fried Catfish Filets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
I won't make this again. A much better coating is Italian bread crumbs with Seasoned Salt and more Oregano. Dip fish in milk/egg, coat with coating and fry. Serve with lemon juice. Works with any lean fish like perch, walleye, catfish etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I think this would be better by just adding some garlic powder to the cornmeal mixture and frying in canola oil. I will try it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
This was the first time using this recipes for fried catfish. It was great! Did make one change and used 1 teaspoon of garlic instead of the garlic cloves. Hubsand is already asking when I'm going to make it for dinner again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
Very Tasty! The farm raised catfish available to me really needs something added for flavor, and this did the trick. Good foundation for experiments too. As RE: Mercury - Check with your State Fish & Game. Some waters, particularly in old industrialized areas (like upstate New York where I lived), are very polluted and they can advise what to avoid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
I really like this recipe, never made catfish before, but it came out great.. I used a more flavor neutral vegetable oil instead of olive, and I also added more cayenne because I'm from the South and love spicy food. I probably added an extra 1/2 tsp, but next time I think I'll add more. Also, maybe my filets were thin, but I didn't need to cook them as long as the recipe called for, a minute or two less on each side actually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
Nothing very complicated. I used egg beaters, or other fake egg product, instead of milk. Leftover filets I use for sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
This recipe was good. As always when frying, be sure the oil is hot enough before adding your fish. Otherwise, you'll end up with a not-so-tasty disaster (which I did the on my first attempt at this recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I tried this last night and give it 3 stars. My husband and I both really liked the cayenne flavoring to it, but the garlic was a bit much. It was very easy to make. I think next time I'll make it without the garlic and see how it goes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
I wish I had put these in the oven to finish them off, too -- the fillets were thick and I overcooked them on the stove. Unfortunately the olive oil gave these a funny taste (I wish I had used canola oil) and the overcooking caused the garlic to taste bitter. Ick. Seasoning was yummers, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Chef John's Miso-Glazed Barramundi

A light, flavorful Asian-inspired glaze for a mild, flakey white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States