Pan Fried Catfish Filets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Delicious! We have an abundance of catfish around here, and I am always lookiing for different ways to prepare it and this will definitely be added to my catfish menu rotation. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I used a packaged fish fry mix and just added garlic powder, onion powder, and paprika. The mix already had a good amount of cayenne and also had some lemon juice added to it. My fish turned out very flavorful and juicy. And yes, make sure your oil is hot enough before laying anything battered in it or else the batter 'melts' off and burns into a clumpy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Maybe it was me, I doubled the recipe because I had to serve eight and it was way too much cayenne. I also cut the fish in strips so maybe too much batter per strip. Half of my guests could not eat the fish because it was so spicy. Good thing I also had chicken strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hernando, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
We made this with cod and it came out great! Very crispy, tasted good with tartar sauce. We subbed a teaspoon of garlic powder for the minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This breading is also great with flounder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I thought this recipe was just ok but my super picky husband liked it so im giving it 4 stars. If I were to make again I would add more spices, seemed a little bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I made this last night and it was fabulous. I deep fried it so I used quite a bit more oil. I didn't bother with the garlic and I don't think it was needed. The only other difference is that I deep fried it and it was nice and crispy. I felt that it was quite easy to put together, too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
This was very good. I did add some lemon pepper and it turned out well. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
Pretty good. I tried to follow another reviewers suggestion and finish them of in the oven because they were a bit thick but this made the bottom soggy with oil.. I guess next time I will drain them real good on a paper towel before moving them to the oven. This will just takea time or two for me to figure out. Im not real good with frying fish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerrilynn

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This dish had so much flavor, followed the receipe to the letter, first time in 40 yrs of cooking my husband did not use anything on the fish to kill the taste of the fish used catfish and fillet of sole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Chef John's Miso-Glazed Barramundi

A light, flavorful Asian-inspired glaze for a mild, flakey white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States