Pan Fried Catfish Filets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
BREADCRUMBS, WITH LEMON SALT IN A EGG/ MILK DREDGE...MUCH TASTIER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Loved this recipe even though I did not do the garlic. I also used canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I learned that I hate catfish. Now I know why it has to be so spicy - to cover up the taste. I love just about all fish, so when my sister talked me into buying the catfish (it was on sale-cheap) I thought I'd give it a try. I'm sure it's not the fault of this recipe, it's just horrible fish, IMHO. We had hamburgers instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
One of the best breadings I have had for catfish! We added a little bit of jalepeno the second time for some more spice, but it is just as good without!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I made a few changes, or this would have gotten 5 stars. I used buttermilk instead of milk. I put the dry ingredients into a ziplock bag and shook the catfish around to coat. I deep fried instead of pan fried, for that real southern texture. It was a hit! I used 2 pounds of catfish nuggets and doubled the recipe. Thanks for a great base! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kg2943

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I really enjoyed this, although I personally found it tricky to cook the catfish all the way through without burning the cornmeal. I also added lemon pepper garlic powder in the cornmeal mixture in place of frying real garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This was good, but I don't think I enjoy corn meal. I prefer breading with a flour base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Absolutely fantastic! I rubbed the fish with Adobo seasoning on both sides before dredging it in the cornmeal coating. I did not use the milk. The fish already had enough moisture for the coating to stick to. I recommend seasoning the fish in some manner (eg salt and pepper or Adobo) before adding the coating. Doing so enhances the overall flavor. Also, this recipe creates a lot of cornmeal seasoning. Store some for later before using the rest to coat the fish, or else you'll be throwing away alot of excess cornmeal seasoning mix. Regarding concerns on cooking thick pieces of fish, I used a cast iron skillet which holds and distributes heat well. You can turn down the heat to slow down the cooking if needed. Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Rakic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
this is great, although it didnt need anything, i added a egg to the milk to give it a more thicker coating and some cajun seasoning, to make a little more spicier, the fish turned out exqusite and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
If I were to make this again, I would cut the corn meal in half and add 1 cup of flour and add some garlic, maybe some kosher salt, something to add some flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holladay, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States