Pan Fried Catfish Filets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Great recipe. And I want to reply to the guy who made the mercury remark. Sometimes mercury can also be a problem in rivers and lakes as well. You should check you state's game & parks website. They usually have reports on such things. I live in Kansas and there are parts of the Arkansas River that they recommend only eating a certain amount of the fish in a certain time span.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
A little spicier than I wanted it to be, so I will cut back on the cayenne a little next time, but it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Great recipe! I've always preferred the all cornmeal batter to the ones with flour. These had just the right amount of spice for us. I did fry mine longer than instructed because we like ours very golden brown. This is a keeper and one I will make often once the catfish start biting again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
i too made some adjustments to this recipe, but with pretty tasty results. i substituted 1sp of garlic powder for the fresh garlic, used vegetable oil for frying, and lessened the cornmeal so i could add some flour as well. i thought it was awesome, but then again i'm a sucker for any fried catfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I am giving this 4 stars bec my whole family enjoyed it although I did change the recipe a lot. I just used seasoned breadcrumbs like one person suggested. it was really good. easy to just dip in milk, dip in bread crumbs and fry. no measuring invovled. try it this way and you will enjoy. serve with white rice and tartar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
The fish itself had NO flavor and had to finish in the oven like some others wrote.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I can't stand catfish tbh but Husband loves it. The only thing I did differently was to omit the fresh garlic and use garlic powder instead. It's a shame that frying catfish completely stinks out my house, or I would make it more often (Husband loves it fried but is kinda "meh" when it's oven-baked). Served it with fresh green beans, store-bought biscuits and homemade sausage gravy. Not bad at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I followed the recipe for the batter but used whiting instead. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I am giving this recipe a four, because I didn't follow it exactly (maybe followed exactly it is a 5). I used bread crumbs instead of corn meal as I didn't have it on hand. I took the advice of previous reviewers and used slightly less crumbs than called for. I didn't have onion powder on hand, so minced green onions instead (about 1 tablespoon). I reduced the garlic to 2 small cloves and grated them, plus the zest of one small lemon into the crumbs. I sliced the lemon and saved it for the plate (but ended up putting the lemon in my water). I also used about 1 tablespoon fresh Italian flat parsley in the crumb mixture. I decided against using olive oil, as it imparts its flavor to the food, and used canola instead. I did not dredge the fish in milk first, but instead rinsed the fish (as I always do), then turned the fish in crumb mixture without patting dry. I also decided to coat my childrens' fish before adding the cayenne pepper. Even with my pepper being on the old side, this fish would have been too spicy for them with almost 2 teaspoons pepper. I did fry for about 6 minutes on the first side, which was getting a bit too brown. I reduced the heat a couple of notches, then fried for about another 6 minutes on the other side. The backbone of this recipe is very strong, and I will use it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Well. Made for hubbie's post birthday special dinner. Garlic in a pan, even on medium heat, for over 15 minutes will produce crisped burnt garlic. Had to remove garlic with slotted spoon after first minutes as it had begun to burn. Putting meal mixture in a bowl is the way to go. I used trusted paper bag method and it didn't cover half as well as I wanted. Frying anything in extra virgin olive oil isn't a good idea as it has a low smoke point. Cayenne pepper overpowered the coating. My fillets were thick and required more oil and time to finish cooking. Using just milk as a coating (without egg) didn't produce a thick enough crust for my taste. All in all, a disappointing experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States