Pan Fried Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I have not tried adding onions, but another variation is to thinly slice fresh brussels sprouts (I use a food processor) and then stir fry rather than saute with the olive oil and garlic. You can also drizzle in some teriyaki for a more oriental flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This is the best way to eat Brussel Sprouts! The ol way of boiling/steaming is out! The flavor is fantastic. Anyone who says the hate Brussel Sprouts will change their mind. So much better pan fried in a skillet. You don't have to use a cast iron skillet, but if you got one definitely the way to go. Perfect base recipe, with flexibility to do your own twist. Add chopped bacon, onion, change up the herbs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
My husband and I have been preparing brussels sprouts like this for years. It's our favorite! We leave out the garlic powder at the end and sometimes lightly steam them before frying since they can get a little dark before becoming tender. If they're smaller sprouts, it's not an issue though. A well seasoned cast iron pan does wonders for the flavor, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
These turned out tasty, but I found I couldn't follow the directions exactly. I believe I'd have ended up with a mess if I had. If garlic, then onions are cooked for the stated times on medium heat and then raw brussels sprouts are added, the result will be sprouts that are burnt on the outside and raw on the inside. I added the garlic and onions together in the cold oil and brought it up to while sweating the aromatics. I added the sprouts (I had to cut most of mine as they ranged from medium to huge). They started to brown quickly, so I added about 2 TBSP of water and covered them for a few minutes. When I uncovered them, I continued to cook them until they carmelized. At this point they were cooked nicely and not burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Good, and even better with cooked, crumbled bacon. Not a good idea to cook without stirring - you'll risk burning the garlic. Garlic powder in addition to fresh garlic not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I've been making my sprouts like this for years, even my kids love them! I do add grated parmesan/romano cheese right before they are done, it gives them an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Num! Even if you think you don't like Brussels Sprouts you may like this! Just don't overcook them, they turn unpleasantly mushy and bitter. Like other reviewers mentioned it really helps the texture to microwave or steam lightly before browning in the skillet. It is fine to go ahead and stir, just give them time to brown. I only used fresh garlic and didn't bother with garlic powder. Served with pork tenderloin and rice pilaf for a tummy warming autumn meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Really good. I didn't put in any garlic and I used some bacon fat to saute the onions and brussel sprouts. Very tasty using frozen sprouts that I had allowed to almost thaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
The flavor was okay and they smelled great but they were not very tender at all. If I were to make it again I would add the Brussels sprouts much sooner after adding the garlic and onion because the onion was charred by the end and the Brussels sprouts were still underdone even though they were blackened. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
These were very good, I'd never thought to saute' them in olive oil before. The only change I made was to add some Bacon Bacon seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States