Pan Dulces Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I live in Mexico and this bread is very authentic. I've made it 2 times, the first time I used all the flour and they turned out more like biscuits. The 2nd time I used 4 cups and didn't knead it as long, they turned out perfect. This bread needs the topping to be real pan. But forget crumbly, make it pasty and spread it on. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2001
Great recipe! Will definitley make again; whole family loved them. They're best right out of the oven. I gave the recipe to my friends and they loved them. I put all ingredients in bread maker on dough setting much easier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
IT WAS A VERY GOOD RECIPE JUST LIKE MY GRANDMOTHER USED TO MAKE WHEN I WAS A KID. I DIDN'T NEED ALL 5 C. OF FLOUR. WILL DEFINETLY MAKE AGAIN. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I found this recipe when helping my son with a project. They were a huge hit at home and school. I've started making them for the family. The changes I made was to add a tsp of vanilla to the topping to make it pasty, and to make 32 smaller buns rather then 16 large buns. These were still the size of a regular bagel so that was fine by me. As a tip make the topping first, spoon it onto plastic wrap, roll it into a log and chill while making the dough. Then slice into small rounds with a hot, wet knife and place them onto the buns before baking. Saves a lot of time this way...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This was the first time I've ever made a yeast bread of any sort. I was very pleased with the results. If I can make these, anyone can. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2001
Exxccellentt!! These are very delicious and soft. I too, used less than 5 c. flour and put all ingredients in the bread maker. That made it very simple, the kids enjoyed helping me. The aroma of this bread was flowing throughout the house, it made our mouths water. YUMMYY! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
This is a very good bread. It has a good texture and is simple to make. I find that if you over mix the topping just enough you can spread it easily on the dough, then score it like they do in those mexican bakeries. So far I've made this bread 3x for my family, it's also good w/o the topping as either a dinner roll or with some cinnamon-sugar mix on top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Juliana's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This was my 1st time making this and it turned out yummy! Last time i baked bread i used the conchas recipe(on allrecipe.com) and my bread turned out hard and small. Instead of making 16 little dough balls, i made 8. They turned out the same size as the ones that you would get at a mexican bakery would make them.(Mexican portions). I also notice that people say that their bread turned out hard..its because they bake small little dough balls for 20mins.over cooking=hard bread.. You should double the size and still cook them for 20mins. If your bread isnt rising well then crank up the oven to 400 for one min. turn it off, put the dough in the warm oven &let it rise(40mins) while you are making the sugar topping. I followed the recipe exactly(used 4c.flour and 1c.flour while i was kneading it for 10mins) and i added 1/3c. brown sugar to make the bread a bit more moist They turn out amazing and the aroma will sure make your neighbors mouth water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2000
Were very good. Only used about 4 1/2 cups of flour, it seemed like too much. More chewy like bread then others I have tasted but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
This recipe is a little labor intensive just as any other home made bread, but very good. Thanks to the tips from the other cooks. This recipe is definitely a keeper and better than the other one that is posted. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIVEBRIGS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States