Pan Dulces Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I didn't like em that much...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ricanlicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikkivazquez
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I really hate giving bad reviews especially if it may have been because of something I did wrong, but I followed this recipe exactly. These came out way too dense, not fluffy like the Pan dulce my mother in law makes. I dont think I will attempt this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikkivazquez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Excellent! These are a little more decadent than what I grew up with but they are wonderful--esp. with a cup of cocoa or coffee-MMMMMmmmmmm. Don't change a thang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
The bread was definitely too dry when 5 cups were used. Next time I'll cut it down like others. But other than that, a great recipe. I will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K Dub

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Nothing like traditional Pan Dulce (AKA Pan De Huevo)i grew up eating in San Andtonio, but over all a decent roll with or without the topping. I added a bit of water to the topping and flattened it into disks the same size as the rolls and cut designs,as this is more traditional and looks nicer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was gorgeous. We're having a Mexican themed new year (07-08) and I wanted to go a little further than Tequila! I didn't get the pink look despite adding red food colouring and a touch of cinnamon. For some reason, the dough didn't rise well but I'm unfamiliar with American recipes and I;ll try it agin with the metric measurement to report back!! Would vanilla seeds be an acceptable addition to the dough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Love it! Easy to make when you make the dough in the bread machine! I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I live in Phoenix, AZ so it's not difficult to find these in the stores. I've always wanted to make them but been intimidated by the number of steps. The soft fluffy rolls are so worth it! Not as dense as I seem to find in the stores. I think next time I will try adding a little anise seed to the dough like you find in the bakeries. I did end up using the egg white leftover from using yolks in the topping to glaze the buns before topping them, it helped the crumb topping stay on and gave the areas that showed thru a nice glossy appearance. Thank you for the great recipe & instructions! Will definitely be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I am from Guatemala and I live here, so you can imagine that I eat Pan Dulce, some call it Pan de Manteca, but not as much as I would like because it shows in the hips:)!. I love the taste and it is a comfort food in the afternoon. Just to share how we eat the Pan Dulce: 1. With a hot cup of coffee! the regular one. Break the bread in half, with your hands, and pour it in the coffee a few seconds to make it moist, just the piece you are going to bite, repeat after each bite. This is the most authentic and popular way to eat it. 2. I particularly like to slice the bread and spread some butter on the bottom slice, place the top and eat with the coffee way (1). My mom always told me that this is the most delicious way to eat Pan Dulce but you can only do it when you are alone or in the company of close frinds. Hope you enjoy as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Here's a tip: bake 15mins if you want a soft, melt in your mouth topping, and bake 20mins if you want a crispier/chewy topping. Hope it helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States