Pan Dulces Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Fantastic dough, easy to work with and very smoothly textured. Scalding the milk first certainly helps keep the dough from being sticky, however, it also could make it easy to kill the yeast if it does not cool properly. I too used my bread machine which made this so much easier. I also substituted higher gluten flour for the all-purpose flour, as I would in any roll/bread application. The topping is different, but delicious on these delicately flavored rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hillsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pulaski, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
After cooling (and savoring that first one off the pan!) I slip each roll into a separate sandwich bag and then freeze. When you want one, just pop a bag into the microwave and hit defrost. You'll have a warm, soft treat with your coffee.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I didn't like em that much...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ricanlicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikkivazquez
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I really hate giving bad reviews especially if it may have been because of something I did wrong, but I followed this recipe exactly. These came out way too dense, not fluffy like the Pan dulce my mother in law makes. I dont think I will attempt this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikkivazquez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Excellent! These are a little more decadent than what I grew up with but they are wonderful--esp. with a cup of cocoa or coffee-MMMMMmmmmmm. Don't change a thang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
The bread was definitely too dry when 5 cups were used. Next time I'll cut it down like others. But other than that, a great recipe. I will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K Dub

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Nothing like traditional Pan Dulce (AKA Pan De Huevo)i grew up eating in San Andtonio, but over all a decent roll with or without the topping. I added a bit of water to the topping and flattened it into disks the same size as the rolls and cut designs,as this is more traditional and looks nicer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was gorgeous. We're having a Mexican themed new year (07-08) and I wanted to go a little further than Tequila! I didn't get the pink look despite adding red food colouring and a touch of cinnamon. For some reason, the dough didn't rise well but I'm unfamiliar with American recipes and I;ll try it agin with the metric measurement to report back!! Would vanilla seeds be an acceptable addition to the dough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Love it! Easy to make when you make the dough in the bread machine! I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I live in Phoenix, AZ so it's not difficult to find these in the stores. I've always wanted to make them but been intimidated by the number of steps. The soft fluffy rolls are so worth it! Not as dense as I seem to find in the stores. I think next time I will try adding a little anise seed to the dough like you find in the bakeries. I did end up using the egg white leftover from using yolks in the topping to glaze the buns before topping them, it helped the crumb topping stay on and gave the areas that showed thru a nice glossy appearance. Thank you for the great recipe & instructions! Will definitely be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States