Pan Dulce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
I have been searching for this recipe. There is a trick to keeping the dough soft...(dont over knead it) I had used it for my family for years. It actually comes out like fresh pan dulce from the mexican markets. Just need to add a lil love to it to perfect it. It isnt too sweet... afterall it isn't a doughnut that you are making nor is it like American sweetbread. But if you are looking for an authentic tasting pan dulce this one is it. Happy baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This turned out great. My family loved them. They do take time and you have to put an effort forth for them to turn out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
These are amazing! With a little effort, they come out perfectly. I've been making these for my Spanish class and they're a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I love the chocolate ones. Growing up my mom would make them once a year. This recipe is found in the the Sunset Mexican Cook Book published in the 70's. If using a bread machine try 4 1/4 - 4 1/2 cups of flour instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
Wasn't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
This recipe isn't all what I expected. Try the recipe with the name Pan Dulces, that one is definitely way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIVEBRIGS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
This wasn't the recipe I was looking for I thought it would be better. The dough seemed a little to hard to work with and not much flavor. Maybe I didn't make it correctly, but it sure was a mistake either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I wouldn't make these again at all. I don't know if the instructions weren't very clear or what happened. I followed the directions to the T and it was just not happening. I bake breads and cinnamon buns all the time so I thought this would be a breeze. I was wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babydollmisfit
Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Homemade Chocolate Cronuts

Pudding-filled chocolate donuts made with refrigerated crescent dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States