Pan De Sal II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2000
This is the best Pan de Sal my family and I have ever tasted! So creamy, delicious and fulfilling!! Good job, Kim! - Maribel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
Great bread that stales slowly (still soft 4 days later). Went over well at a Mother's Day brunch - all ages enjoyed it. Very rich and silky texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Thanksgiving morning I realized that I didn't quite have the 6 cups of all purpose flour required for this recipe, so I substituted bread flour to make up the difference (@ 1 1/2 cups). These came out perfect. Everyone seemed to really enjoy them, especially slathered with butter. They were quite easy to prepare, yet made the holiday just that much more special. Although the prep time stated is 2 hours, you only actually handle the dough for @ 20 - 30 minutes. The remaining time the dough is rising. Not much time invested for an end result so good. You should definitely try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
ran out of all purpose flour and used cake flour instead. also used butter to coat dough. and it came out great! gone in no time. i even stuffed the dough with ham and cheese (bite size) right before putting in the oven. baked at 375 for 15-20 min until top was lightly golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Great recipe!! I changed the temperature to 350 degrees instead. Use a non-stick sheet instead of using cooking spray, because the bottom will get burnt. Other than that, excellent recipe...authentic filipino dinner rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azzilann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I have been wanting to make pan de sal for a long time. I scoured the internet for a pan de sal recipe that is similar to the pan de sal I grew up with back home. So I made a big batch of these and was very impressed! I gave some to a friend and she thought they were store-bought. She was very surprised when I told her that they were homemade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This makes a really nice light fluffy dinner roll. Will be using this as my "go to" for bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
The pandesal were really good. I'l defenetly make it again soon !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Although I'm not Filipino, i grew up eating pan de sal, our neighbor owned a Filipino Bakery and we enjoyed many baked treats from her kitchen. This is an excellent pandesal recipe. I ommitted the baking powder (you don't need both). It rose beautifully baked at 350 came very fluffy. Family devoured the rolls. Proof your yeast before using it. I always by fresh active-dry and keep it refriderated to make it last longer. Thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
These tasted really 'milky', even though I only had 1/2 cup milk and subbed the rest with water. i ended up making 24 smaller rolls, cuz my Filipino maid kept telling me to make them smaller when I was shaping them,even she said they were yummy!!XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Azalina’s Mint Chicken Curry

A Malaysian native shares her secret recipe for spicy chicken curry.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How To Make Tempura

Learn the Japanese method for making delicate batter-fried seafood and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States