Pan De Sal II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Although I'm not Filipino, i grew up eating pan de sal, our neighbor owned a Filipino Bakery and we enjoyed many baked treats from her kitchen. This is an excellent pandesal recipe. I ommitted the baking powder (you don't need both). It rose beautifully baked at 350 came very fluffy. Family devoured the rolls. Proof your yeast before using it. I always by fresh active-dry and keep it refriderated to make it last longer. Thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This recipe would be a lot better I think if it were made with bread flour instead of all purpose. I make bread regularly, and this one came out way too dense, even after it rose in the oven. The flavor is wonderful, but it gets lost in the thickness of the bread. I will try this recipe again, but with the right flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
The pandesal were really good. I'l defenetly make it again soon !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This makes a really nice light fluffy dinner roll. Will be using this as my "go to" for bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
To everyone saying the bread came out dense. I had that trouble too the first 4 times I made it (-_-*) , but don't knead it on the counter. Knead it in the bowl. I found that when I kneaded it in the bowl, it didn't become dense from overflouring. Also, when I pulled it out of the oven, I slathered on the butter. Then I sprinkled it lovingly with some salt, sugar, and bread crumbs. You would be AMAZED how those 4 little things make a much more tasty roll! And the salt was less than a 1/4 tsp, so you don't have to be so scared about it being really high in sodium. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Great recipe! I've never thought of making them before and they turned out just like the ones I've grown up with. It's pretty scary that I can make these for the family when ever someone wants some! They're so addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I think the recipe should suggest to proof the yeast before using. My dough would not rise the 1st or 2nd time, but it did in the oven! I wish I would have known about proofing the yeast. My boyfriend, who is filipino, did like them! For my american taste, I put honey butter on top before and after baking. That was yummy. And cook on the highest rack in the oven between temp of 350-375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
These tasted really 'milky', even though I only had 1/2 cup milk and subbed the rest with water. i ended up making 24 smaller rolls, cuz my Filipino maid kept telling me to make them smaller when I was shaping them,even she said they were yummy!!XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I have been wanting to make pan de sal for a long time. I scoured the internet for a pan de sal recipe that is similar to the pan de sal I grew up with back home. So I made a big batch of these and was very impressed! I gave some to a friend and she thought they were store-bought. She was very surprised when I told her that they were homemade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
It's ok. Maybe I did not something wrong but it didn't taste like an authentic pandesal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Azalina’s Mint Chicken Curry

A Malaysian native shares her secret recipe for spicy chicken curry.

How To Make Tempura

Learn the Japanese method for making delicate batter-fried seafood and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States