Pan De Sal I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
I've made this recipe a few times now, and each time added more sugar and salt (it was quite bland the first time). Adding 2/3 cup sugar and 2 tsp salt makes it delicious! Just like I remember. Also don't forget to sprinkle the tops with bread crumbs before baking to make it authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna the Baker
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
My first attempt and it was perfect! I was expecting it to be really dense and hard but it came out soft and nice. It tastes a little bland but I think that's how authentic pan de sal should taste like. Perfect with a slice of cheddar cheese -- my all time favorite Filipino breakfast! *JUST A TIP: Make sure that the water is warm to the touch, not boiling hot. Otherwise, the yeast will die & the bread will not rise at all. Thanks for the recipe Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
my kids love it, i just feel that something is missing, it's kinda hard too i want my pan de sal crunchy outside but soft inside, i follow the recipe what did i do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
My wife always craves for pan de sal and we have to drive 30 miles just to get them pre-packed and cold so I was glad to find this recipe online. My wife and kids loved it so much...I've made this 10 times in 2 months...no kidding! Here are the additions/changes I made to the original recipe based on other reviews and to suit our tastes: replace 1/4 cup of vegetable oil with 2 tbsp of butter and 2 tbsp vegetable oil; add 4 egg yolks (yes, no whites); 1 cup of sugar; 2 tsps salt; 1 pack or 2 1/4 tsps of active dry yeast and cut in logs about the size of 1 large AA egg. If you want your pan de sal dense, just let the logs rise for about 30mins to 1 hour. The longer you let it rise the less dense or softer the pan de sal gets. I let it rise for as long as 2 hours. If you want it brown or crunchy on top, lightly spread the top of the logs with vegetable oil. When the vegetable oil drips to the sides of the logs, that's too much and it will burn the bottom of the bread. Sprinkle some bread crumbs over the vegetable oil to make it more authentic. It takes a long time to prepare this but it's worth it... I like it that I can make something my wife really loves. Enjoy! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Thanks Michelle! I've used this recipe 3 times in the last 5 weeks and I just can't have enough. The crust was crispy and the inside just airy enough but not too dense. Tastes really good. This very much resembles what is known as "putok" pan de sal in the Philippines. I freeze cooled pan de sal so 1 recipe lasts a week. I just grab however many I need from the freezer and put it straight in the toaster oven (no thawing!)on low to medium heat for 5-7 minutes and it's like having fresh baked pan de sal everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whimzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I tried to make this recipe three times and failed each time. I did exactly what the recipe directed and it did not work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAANA34

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
My husband swears this is just like his mom used to make. Very tasty rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
I made these for my filipino boyfriend, they brought tears of joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadyWilCook
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Wow! I was very impressed. A Pan De Sal recipe that actually tasted like Pan De Sal! The whole family loved it... especially my Mom. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I am very new at baking. I used the recipe twice. The pandesal tasted good. I have one concern with the instruction on size. I may have done something wrong but 1/2 inch cylinder by 1/2 inch length seems too small. So, in later batches I had to make to cuts to 1 inch cylinder by 1-1/2 inch long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Azalina’s Mint Chicken Curry

A Malaysian native shares her secret recipe for spicy chicken curry.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How To Make Tempura

Learn the Japanese method for making delicate batter-fried seafood and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States