Pan De Sal I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
4 and half star very good , i increase the salt and sprinkle with bread crumbs, good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hime12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Good basic recipe.I followed the other reviewers and used 2/3 c sugar and 2 tsp salt. Due to the higher amount of sugar, let dough rise for one hour before forming into a log and cutting into 2 inch pieces. Roll in bread crumbs and place on baking sheet cut side up. Let rise for another hour before baking in 375 F oven for 18-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
The recipe says to cut into 1/2 inch pieces, and I doubted it but decided to follow the directions exactly..The bread was so tiny I think a mouse would be offended! It was about the size of the quarter. (I took them out much earlier since they're tiny.) So use your judgement and cut it bigger. Pan de sal is a little bland, but not this bland. It didn't taste like it at all. I think different regions have different pan de sal, because ours aren't crispy, they're slightly denser and crumbly and sweeter. We're from Pampanga. I don't understand why it says to knead 10 minutes, because my dough was smooth and elastic by 5 minutes. I don't think I'll make this again, it didn't even taste better than a regular dinner roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Amazing!! Great dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastman, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Thanks for this wonderful pandesal recipe. I tried them and they were really delicious. Tastes like home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CELIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
thanks so much for sharing! this was really easy. i added more sugar to make it sweeter. my whole family loved it. this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Great recipe. The bread was light and perfect. I used bread flour and followed another reviewer by using one cup of sugar. I followed another recipe by coating it with evaporated milk and sprinkling on bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Absolutely wonderful recipe- easy to follow and is authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIAELAINE
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I halfed the recipe and it made 32 pcs. I like the texture but I agree with the others that the sugar was not enough and left them bland. I did not have bread crumbs but they came out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I will have to try this one again. My first attempt, did not turn out like I hoped. They were too much like a biscuit instead of what they really are supposed to taste like. I will make the attempt when I sum up the courage again and re-rate it then. I followed the recipe exactly as it is listed. My husband is Filipino, so he was my true tester. He did not give negative feedback, but I know that this did not turn out good for me. Will try and rate again later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calypso36

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Azalina’s Mint Chicken Curry

A Malaysian native shares her secret recipe for spicy chicken curry.

Beef on Weck, Part 1: Kummelweck Roll

See how to make delicious freshly baked kummelweck rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States