Pan De Sal I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
These were great! I used the 2tsp salt & 1 cup sugar, used 4TBSP unsalted butter rather than veg oil. My only problem was that when rolling out into logs that were 1/2 in in diameter, I ended up with teeny tiny rolls. I let the dough rise for 2 hours but only let the cut rolls rise for 10 min so we'll see how the next batch goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessy0419

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Great recipe. To create each roll, I found that it was better to take 1/3 cup of dough and roll it into a ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
The pandesal didn't quite come out as I had hoped. I'm used to Aling Mary's sweet and soft (no crust) pandesal. This wasn't bad either, it makes a great breakfast and dinner bun, and I'll probably make it again. I added a whole cup of sugar just to get a little bit of sweetness to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitsl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Essanaye
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
My wife is from the Philippines and loves Pan De Sal (I do too). I used this recipe with a few of the suggested changes. First, 2/3 cup of sugar is mandatory in my opinion. I used 2 tsp of salt. The first rise took about 1.5 hours, so be patient. I had the bowl of dough sitting in a warm oven. I actually had to turn the oven on again for a minute to get the dough to really pop. The original recipe calls to roll the dough into a log 1/2 inches in diameter. I believe this is a miss print. I rolled it into a log about 2.5 inches diameter, and cut them into 1 inch thick "slices". As I place them on the large greased baking pan, I reshape them to round, flatten them slightly, and spaced them by 1/2". On the second pan, I "crowded" them together (1/4"spacing ) to see if it would produce taller rolls. It did. I brushed an egg/milk wash onto the tops of each roll, and sprinkled them with fine bread crumbs. I asked my wife and her filipina friend about the shape of traditional Pan De Sal, they both had different answers. I suppose it depends on what region of the Philippines one is from. My first batch came out flatter, about 1.5 inches high when done but still plenty fluffy. The second batch was 2 inches tall, and exactly like what we buy here at the local Filipino bakery (more like our traditional dinner rolls here in the USA). The second batch was allowed to rise 30 extra minutes, which could also be contributing to the height. We both liked both styles equally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Essanaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
it was ok, taste is good if following previous reviewer's additions of salt and sugar. Mine didn't rise as well in the short period of time, however, and when cooled, it was quite hard :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe and saved me from a baker's meltdown. The pan de sal was just how I remembered them from the Philippines. Light and sweet with a texture that beats all yeast rolls. What else can I say except that they were gone within ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minus

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
If you're looking for authentic tasting pan de sal this is not the recipe to follow. The buns produced in this recipe were quite dense even after 2 rises, I much prefer a lighter bun. Perhaps I messed it up somehow. Overall they were decent but I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
The texture of these rolls was great; a thin crispy crust with a tender and airy interior. I made only half of the recipe and didn't top them with breadcrumbs, but with an egg wash. I will add more sugar and salt for more flavor next time, like other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
My grandparents owned a bakery in the Phillipines and this recipe, with a couple of adjustments, produced a wonderful tasting delight that brought me back in time - just need a brown paper bag to enjoy them in now! I took the advice of the previous reviews and added 1/3 cup of sugar and tad more salt. My girlfriend and I tested the oven temp and adjusted baking it at 360 degrees for 17 minutes. We had tried following a recipe book but it was nowhere near the pan de sal I remember, aroma and all! Plus there is no bakery in south Orange County. All that is missing is queso de bola during the holidays or maybe some longganiza as my GF suggested...too tasty! Next time, we will shield the bottom to provide an even heat for both the top and bottom. Enjoy! And be patient with the rise times :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is more a 3.5 stars. Mine turned out with a hard crust all around. I actually liked the hard crust, but it wasn't what I was looking for in a pan de sal. Followed directions exactly, maybe bake at a lower temperature? I might try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Azalina’s Mint Chicken Curry

A Malaysian native shares her secret recipe for spicy chicken curry.

Beef on Weck, Part 1: Kummelweck Roll

See how to make delicious freshly baked kummelweck rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States