Pam's Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I am lazy...I bought frozen bread dough and made these. They were really good and remind me of bierock day at the diner in a small town in Kansas where I worked. Made them a second time and used left over meat mixture from Shepherds pie. Added Swiss cheese and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEGT2865

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Wonderful. I was surprised at how well the dough had risen in the fridge. The dough is what makes the recipe so wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Simply fabulous. I confess, my recipe bears no resemblance to the original. I opted to use ground turkey, liberally seasoned with pepper and a garlic/salt seasoning. I made some very creamy Cheddar cheesy mashed potatoes andmixed into the browned turkey, then just for the helluva it, added some chopped steamed broccolli. filled the dough circles with this and baked and O MY HEAVENS. Family couldn't stop raving. Served with corn chowder, peanut butter cookies for dessert. All on a rainy blustery day. Thanks for the inspiration. What I made doesn't begin to be the original which I'm sure is wonderful too. But it was darned good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Amazing! Not really as much work as it looks - once the bread is rising it is really a cinch. The dough is not sticky, either and we had very little mess. We browned the beef with 2 cloves of crushed garlic and added bell pepper, lots of chopped mushrooms, and 1 tsp caraway and 1 tbs oregano with the filling. Then added one can of undiluted cream of celery soup to the filling. I expected to have more of the 12 left over, but it was just so good we went back for thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Laughlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
A very good recipe! The dough alone is fabulous. I have used spinach and added cheese... delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Wow, these are delicious! The dough makes a soft "hamburger-bun" shell around the tasty filling. So good I burned my mouth trying to steal bites before they were cool enough to eat! I followed the advice of a couple reviewers, adding one clove of mashed garlic, and some celery seed. I also used a ground beef/veal/pork mixture, which turned out nicely. Baked some immediately, and put the rest into the freezer for future baking. Mmmmm! Lots of work, but definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was perfect! i made half the recipe, with same amount of beef and did just onions instead of cabbage, i also added garlic and paprika to the beef. This came out so great, my inlaws gave me praise, and my brother in law ate two, these people are EXTREMELY hard to impress and very picky eaters so this recipe was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
There are only two of us in our house but I make the whole batch whenever I make them because they are so good and they freeze very well. They are time consuming but well worth the work. The only change I made was I added 1 teaspoon of garlic powder to my meat mixture while it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raisin City, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
These are fantastic. I used to have this recipe & was SO happy to find it again. I LOVE the dough - my kids did too and want me to use it hand make their hot pockets. By the way, these freeze beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmlionhunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Del Norte, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Very good! My husband, kids, and I really enjoyed these. I especially loved the bread dough and plan on using that as my regular roll recipe now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States