Pam's Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I tried these but the filling was philly cheese steak and it was great. A friend made them for me and now that i found a recipe i am going to try and make it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
So very, very good. The bread dough came together nicely, even with the addition of half whole wheat flour. The filling was moist and, with some caraway, garlic and red pepper flakes, reminiscent of my great grandmother's bierocks. I also made a vegetarian version, adding mashed potato, peas, grated carrot, garlic and caraway to the sauted cabbage. Now the trick is to stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
The bread rocks. I've been making bierocks using frozen dough for years. Tonight I tried this since I was out of frozen dough. The dough was fantastic. I only gave 4 stars because the filling is a little bland. Give it some garlic and your in business.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Made the bread with 4c whole wheat flour and 2.5c bread flour. Made the filling with ground turkey breast and added salt free seasoning plus thyme and sage. It was good and eaten by all! Had enough dough left to make 12 mini cinnamon rolls for dessert:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I have been making this recipe for years and it is wonderful! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
My husband loves bierocks. Have tried other recipes in the past but was never really happy with them. Decided to give a whirl again and am glad I chose this one!! I halved the recipe and still used 1 egg. It made 12, nice sized bierocks and I put 6 each in 9x13pan. I did use 1 1/2 lb hamb for the half recipe and a 16oz bag of cabbage and filled them with approx 4 T filling. Seasoned the ham/onion with garlic, celery seed & paprika (per another review) They are soooo YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Fantastic! The cabbage/ground beef mixture was the part I was most comfortable with. So I took the liberty of adding a bunch of spices (Steak seasoning, onion powder, garlic powder, lemon pepper), Worcestershire Sauce, a garlic clove and some shredded cheese. It came out great! I couldn't stop eating the filling! The bread part I was extremely nervous about. I've never made homemade bread before, but I was so pleased with how well my bread turned out! This recipe was very easy to follow! It takes time and patience, but they turned out DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
These were great!! They had very tasty flavor ( I did add a pinch or two of thyme and some bay leaves, a dash of garlic powder and doubled the onions). I also used ground turkey and cooked 1/2 the onions with the meat. I did half whole wheat flour galf white and added more like 3 heaping tbs of the mixture into the bread pouch. Served with a creamy vegetable soup and squash-delicious!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I made these for an Oktoberfest party over the weekend and they were a total hit! I did not change the recipe at all and I thought they were perfect. I am a beginner when it comes to working with dough so it did take me a few hours to make them. I also had to roll out on a floured surface as the dough was really sticky. I brushed the tops with melted salted butter, and it provided a nice salty counter to the sweet rolls. I will definitely make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I used pre-packaged Philly Steaks with the onions and cabbage. It tasted a little bland so to give the filling a little more flavor I put in a little BBQ sauce and some honey. I took the dough and flattened it into one big square and put the meat mixture in the center closed it up let it rise and then baked. Oh so good. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States