Pam's Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I've made this many times with various fillings, often vegetarian. Tonight, I made the best filling yet. I used ground portobellos, about five large ones, which was enough to make filling for about 15 bierocks. Other than the portobellos, which I just buzzed up in the food processor, I also added 3/4 of a large ground up onion, 1/2 cup ground carrot, 1/4 cup ground celery, one ground yukon gold potato, and seasonings of paprika, cayenne, celery seed, black pepper, garlic, and a beef bouillon cube. Sautéed the filling to soften. I think next time I will add coarsely shredded cabbage and another potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly as written, and it was delicious! I grew up eating authentic German bierocks every year during Oktoberfest at my church, and I thought these were every bit as tasty. My husband has been requesting them - says they're perfect with mashed potatoes and gravy. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kayjo
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I do not like cabbage but in this recipe it is delicious. I put my dough in refregerator for 2 hours and dough came out great. Made 20 bierocks. Very good. My family loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I have been making this for my family for a very long time (31 years). I also add shredded cheddar cheese, garlic and onion powder and my husband likes mushrooms added as well. The photos are nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Made these for our OktoberFEAST!! Time consuming but worth it! followed the directions to a t and they came out perfect. we did add some shredded Muenster cheese to the meat and cabbage right before sealing the rolls shut. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
If you are looking for an authentic bierock recipe, this one is spot on. Normally, I don’t use a recipe, but thought I would give this one a try. It’s absolutely perfect from the bread dough to the meat filling. These are good sized bierocks. The finished product is about 4” in diameter. For sake of ease, I roll the dough into a 16 x 20 rectangle and cut into 20 (4x4) pieces. P.S. Don’t forget the spicy German mustard. It's a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
The dough was absolutely lovely to work with and it had great flavour. The filling however did need a little help. I added some swiss cheese, garlic and Worcestershire Sauce which turned out pretty good. I have also tied the dough with a pulled pork filling was quite happy with how it turned out. I also used the left over dough to create apple cinnamon baked pies which turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I tried these but the filling was philly cheese steak and it was great. A friend made them for me and now that i found a recipe i am going to try and make it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
So very, very good. The bread dough came together nicely, even with the addition of half whole wheat flour. The filling was moist and, with some caraway, garlic and red pepper flakes, reminiscent of my great grandmother's bierocks. I also made a vegetarian version, adding mashed potato, peas, grated carrot, garlic and caraway to the sauted cabbage. Now the trick is to stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
The bread rocks. I've been making bierocks using frozen dough for years. Tonight I tried this since I was out of frozen dough. The dough was fantastic. I only gave 4 stars because the filling is a little bland. Give it some garlic and your in business.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States