Pam's Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Just like I remember eating as a child! Thank you so much for sharing! My in-laws had never had them before and they loved them! My father-in-law told my other-in-law to get the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Hmm, not bad, but nothing special. Everyone commented that there was way too much bread for the meat filling. (Think about it - 1 lb of hamburger and 7 cups of flour???) I'd say to half the dough (or use it for something else like others did) and roll it out much thinner. I added garlic, paprika, and celery seed, and it was just okay. The concept is fun, though. I think I'll try it with less bread and something like ham, swiss, and mustard inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLANAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I have been using this website for a few years and this is my 3rd review. I just don't get impressed easily. But these rolls are so delicious that I have to give it 5 stars. I followed the recipe to a dot (except for adding some garlic to the filling but I add garlic to everything). I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I've made this many times with various fillings, often vegetarian. Tonight, I made the best filling yet. I used ground portobellos, about five large ones, which was enough to make filling for about 15 bierocks. Other than the portobellos, which I just buzzed up in the food processor, I also added 3/4 of a large ground up onion, 1/2 cup ground carrot, 1/4 cup ground celery, one ground yukon gold potato, and seasonings of paprika, cayenne, celery seed, black pepper, garlic, and a beef bouillon cube. Sautéed the filling to soften. I think next time I will add coarsely shredded cabbage and another potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly as written, and it was delicious! I grew up eating authentic German bierocks every year during Oktoberfest at my church, and I thought these were every bit as tasty. My husband has been requesting them - says they're perfect with mashed potatoes and gravy. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kayjo
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I do not like cabbage but in this recipe it is delicious. I put my dough in refregerator for 2 hours and dough came out great. Made 20 bierocks. Very good. My family loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I have been making this for my family for a very long time (31 years). I also add shredded cheddar cheese, garlic and onion powder and my husband likes mushrooms added as well. The photos are nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Made these for our OktoberFEAST!! Time consuming but worth it! followed the directions to a t and they came out perfect. we did add some shredded Muenster cheese to the meat and cabbage right before sealing the rolls shut. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
If you are looking for an authentic bierock recipe, this one is spot on. Normally, I don’t use a recipe, but thought I would give this one a try. It’s absolutely perfect from the bread dough to the meat filling. These are good sized bierocks. The finished product is about 4” in diameter. For sake of ease, I roll the dough into a 16 x 20 rectangle and cut into 20 (4x4) pieces. P.S. Don’t forget the spicy German mustard. It's a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
The dough was absolutely lovely to work with and it had great flavour. The filling however did need a little help. I added some swiss cheese, garlic and Worcestershire Sauce which turned out pretty good. I have also tied the dough with a pulled pork filling was quite happy with how it turned out. I also used the left over dough to create apple cinnamon baked pies which turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States