Pam's Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
These were good but the meat mixture could have used more seasoning. I made half the recipe and only made one substitution in the bread dough. I sub'd half a cup of milk for half a cup of the water called for. I loved the dough, it was easy to work with and was very tasty. I will give it a try for dinner rolls, burger buns or cinnamon buns sometime. I'll make these again but will definately add more seasning to the meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I loved this recipe it was so good. I added an extra half cup of sugar to my dough and kneaded my dough and then I placed it in the oiled bowl. I also added garlic onion powder and some lime juice to the cabbage and meat for flavor. Once my dough was done like 3 hours I took a quarter of it on flour and rolled it out like a quarter inch thick and grabbed a cup and punched circlesin the dough. It was super good next time I will cook them for only 18minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I usually love everything I try but this was just not our thing, my family really didn't enjoy it very much. And it was quite a time consuming dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Made almost as written. I did not have time to make the buns, so I bought some frozen grands and thawed them quickly in the oven, flattened them and then filled. I didn't cook the cabbage for a full 30 minutes, I didn't want it to get soggy or mushy. These were great, brushed with the butter after. I ate four at one time! Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superfox12082

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Walker, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I am pleasantly surprised by how tasty this is! I used some WW flour to make it a little healthy and halved the dough recipe as I wasn't prepared to make that much... Some points to note: make sure the cabbage is shredded finely, I might even dice it up so that it is easier to wrap. Also, I don't get how to actually spread the dough out on unfloured surface, as my dough stuck to the board if I don't put some flour on it. So I rolled them out on floured surface - turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Yum! These are delicious. I made exactly as written except added a tablespoon of caraway seeds to the meat mixture. The bread dough is exceptional, easy to make and very easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CheeryWazel
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Awesome! We've made these 3 times now. They last for awhile since 20 are made. It's fun to experiment with fillings. One time we did a beef stew. Another time chicken, cheese, and broccoli. And then another time we did the recipe as written. We want to try a pizza filling next time. The bread is really good. We use a lot of flour to stop the dough from sticking to the surface. So we ignore the part that says use an un-floured surface. I think they turn out fine... My boyfriend puts in way more than 2 Tbs of filling. And I think they are better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheeryWazel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I made these for a church pitch-in and they were very popular. They held the heat in after baking, and looked beautiful. The dough was kind of sticky after rising. I used cooking spray on my table so I could manipulate the dough easily without having to add more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I think I had way too much cabbage and I feel like everything should have been drained, but over a very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Just made these for our family dinner and served with soup. I will experiment with fillings next time but it's definitely a keeper! Thank you Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States